Superman Returns

During the past few days, especially before the end of June, almost all the blogs that I have visited wrote something about the movie of the Man of Steel, Superman Returns. Many of them said that they would watch it, they have watched it, and some and if not all said the movie was good.

Heck if this movie is good or not. Are you teasing me? There are no movie houses in this part of the world. It is haram (bad). So, how do I know? I do not or will not have any idea until: the pirates got hold of a copy and reach this place, watch it on my next vacation or if this country allows the entry of the DVD in the coming months or years.

You know what, the Superman movie is very memorable to me most especially the theme song Can You Read My Mind? This song was the favorite of my ex-girlfriend. She was in love with this song and with me for twelve months. Unfortunately, our wonderful romance ended barely a day after twelve months.

I feel that this music had something to do with our parting ways. I guess that she internalized the lyrics so much; the meaning entered her body and soul like a computer virus that she started asking me these questions.

Can you read my mind?
Do you know what it is you do to me?
Don’t know who you are.
Just a friend from another star.

I did not have any answers to all these. I am no Superman and can never be one! I am just a man with chinky eyes, no more and no less. Therefore, she said, “See you around Mr. myepinoy, hope we can still be friends”. I said, “It is okay”, but inside my mind — good riddance, ha ha (Just kidding). “Hope you find your Superman” (Is there really a Superman in real life?)

Days passed and the chinky-eyed people from Korea invaded the prime time spots in most of the TV stations in my country. Somehow, I become famous too. “O Sir you looked like Wu Tsen Sen”, whatever. As this is the case, I supposed, she must have fallen in love again with one of the romantic theme songs from the Korea Novelas. I guess, one way or the other, she remembers me.

Now, that Superman Returns, I believe she will remember me even more. Again, she will be singing lines from her favorite song.

Here I am, like a kid at the school
Holding hands with a god or a fool
Will you look at me, quivering,
Like a little girl, shivering,

After long years, Superman Returns as Superman . Me, still the same chinky-eyed man, no longer young and no possibility of being a Superman, ever.

You, has Superman Return to you or not yet?

Note: This is the English translation of my post with the same title from my Tagalog Blog myepinoy’s BLAG in response to Lorelle’s Blog Challenge.

technorati tags:, , , , , , ,

10 Responses to “Superman Returns”


  1. 1 Lorelle VanFossen July 10, 2006 at 3:23 am

    Well done!

    As for the movie, it is both good and bad. Good because it brings back incredible memories of the original, and they include the music from “Can You Read My Mind”, which several us were singing softly when the music played, though there were no words. It is graphically incredible, soaring, amazing digital effects that take your breath away. The basic core plot is great, and you can’t help but get intrigued, involved, and feel the touch of the old cheering, standing ovation compelling you to rise.

    YET, it is horrible. The movie industry has DONE every car chase style action adventure that there is, and there is basically no where to go with it any more. But they try and several of the rescue scenes are so totally out of any part of reality, you want to puke.

    The very first major rescue scene involves a Boeing plane carrying the Space Shuttle to launch it into outer space. It gets stuck to the plane and the booster rockets go off, taking it and the plane, and its passengers, into Mach 3 or whatever outrageous speed that slams everyone around. The plane should have been falling apart at such torturous stress throughout the whole long scene, but more importantly, the passengers are throw around and Lois Lane is slammed through the whole plane and smashed around, tossed about as she is out of her seat when the worst happens. She is thrown to the back of the plane, to the ceiling, smashes down on top of passengers, and battered all over the place.

    Yet she emerges from all of this without a bruise, no aches, no pains, and her hair a perfect combed style. Her suit wasn’t even messed up. And her shoes were still on. Come on! Totally not believable.

    When you are faced with an amazingly beautiful story, plot, and incredible scenery, and you have to deal with stupid plot tricks that are so clearly faked and not even close to reality, it kicks you out of the story.

    Which is part of what telling a story is all about, isn’t it? You want to keep people there to the end. You want them to stay with you, hang on your words, so you can get to the end of the story and leave them wondering, dazed, or thrilled. Not disappointed and feeling that the director really thought you were stupid and that you would buy into the stupid movie tricks.

    You’ve done a great job using current information to trigger a past memory. Well done. Keep up the great work!

    And how hard was it to translate this for you? Did the concepts have to change much across languages?

  2. 2 myepinoy July 10, 2006 at 6:49 pm

    Lorelle: Thank you so much.

    Translating this is somewhat easy but rephrasing the sentences without deviating from the orignal is a bit tricky

    With regards to concept, it is still intact except that I introduced words like the Korea Novelas and Koreans to emphasize what my (singkit ang mata) chinky eyes really look like. Also, the second to the last paragraph is not there in the orginal.

    Again, thank you very much.

    As we say in Filipino, Mabuhay ka Lorelle!

  3. 3 myepinoy July 10, 2006 at 7:02 pm

    One more thing, thank you for the info about the movie.

    Based on what you described here, it appears to me that Lois Lane is like James Bond – no bruises, no pains, no messed up suit and hair. I think we need to know where they had their suits and hair done. Just kidding.

  4. 4 Jayred July 11, 2006 at 9:51 am

    Too bad you can’t watch movies there on normal mode. Hay buhay. :-)

    I liked Superman II best. Superman I was okay, too. Who can forget the “Can You Read my Mind” sequence? I guess when I watch my Superman video again, I’ll remember you…and your ex-gf! LOL.

  5. 5 myepinoy July 11, 2006 at 12:59 pm

    Jayred: Ha ha, I suggest you watch it only once. I do not wish any harm on anyone’s memory. LOL.

  6. 6 jane July 12, 2006 at 2:12 am

    i love Superman…and i like the new actor. although i miss mr. reeves

  7. 7 drei July 14, 2006 at 8:36 am

    i find the film memorable and nostalgic, but not really that great. :)

  8. 8 me July 14, 2006 at 9:16 pm

    Jane: I guess everybody loves Superman.

  9. 9 me July 14, 2006 at 9:18 pm

    Drei: I can’t say (great or not) that yet. Pag uwi ko siguro sa bakasyon.


  1. 1 freemusicsheets Trackback on August 26, 2011 at 5:38 am

Leave a Reply

Categories


