I am a Filipino! Who am I?

Since Rodolfo Lozada came out from the dark to the light and talked about the countlessI am a Filipino horrible things they do out there on the dark side most especially how they handled the NBN-ZTE deal, many of my local and expatriate friends asked me what is going on and why these cases are always happening in my beloved Philippines. These people were updated because international newspapers and television stations carried them.

Last Wednesday evening, I was sitting on the stairway at the entrance of the building where I live, waiting for a friend to pick me up for the Bankers’ Cup Tennis Tournament. Before my friend arrived, two tenants, one from the Indian subcontinent and a Middle Eastern man came. After the usual Kefalhals (how are you?) they asked me questions about the testimonies of Rodolfo Noel “Jun” Lozada; were they all true and how they all came to be? The last question I heard (somewhat) sounded to me like Kabayan, why your country is troublesome and why Bilibinos (the f and p are pronounced as b here) allow the gang of Ali Baba to run your country?

I sensed that this casual talk would lead to a series of questions that would simply end with a big “WHY?” I decided not to engage myself in any further discussions with these people whose deep accent and broken English contributed much to the destruction of my small brain (sorry folks, malis), I just told them, “Ya Sadik, Yo know Bolitics.” That was it. Our conversations ended and they bid good-bye.

And as they went, I suddenly felt sad about our situation as a nation and as a Filipino abroad.

I know that these are just conversational questions without malice, but deep inside I felt that these questions were like casting a huge cloud of doubt (bigger than the smog of Metro Manila) in my person as a Filipino and again, a negative verdict have been handed to all the Filipinos working here. I do not want to be presumptuous but I suspect that this would be added to the long list of negative generalized perceptions of who and what kind of people the Filipinos are.

I am a FilipinoI am a Filipino! I belong to a great race. I am proud to be one but why? Why all those crazy, stupid, brazen acts of thievery and corruptions of those in power in my country be connected to me as a person? Why do I have to be dragged into and pay the price for this mess, the ecosystem of corruption created by the unwanted child of EDSA 2 People Power Revolution and people who according to Archbishop Oscar Cruz “Long and deeply buried in a huge pile of rotten and rotting garbage, … has become one big living infection already immune to remedial sanitation,” Why?

Why do I have to be looked at like this button whose glory faded after the momentous EDSA 1 People Power Revolution? Why do I have to carry it at my back everywhere I go? Why would such a fine young Filipina like Miss Choi thinks that “puno na ang salop” and feels that there is no more hope for the Philippines? WHY?

Sometimes, I cannot help but envy Rodolfo Noel Lozada. He can always say, “I think I’m not defending the truth anymore. It’s the truth that’s defending me.

In my case, I can only say that I cannot defend the truth anymore. It’s the truth. The truth that’s hurting me, us Pinoys.

I know that a lot of you wouldn’t agree with me but this is what I think and (most often than not) this is the reality you’d see outside the Philippines.

For the last time, please look closely at the picture. You will know what I feel and what I am saying here.

I am A Filipino! Who am I? Why?

27 Responses to “I am a Filipino! Who am I?”


  1. 1 rodaflip February 19, 2008 at 9:26 pm

    I had the same feeling , i am pinoy . I call myself a flip ,not crazy but flip, and flip is filipino. I am now in Canada working but going on to three years. For me what is happening now, should be look upon as part of history and history is changing . Changes could be bad or good, what is good is somebody is risking his life for telling the truth and waking up the filipino people against a corrupt government. Corruption is very much alive in our Philippines system and could not be change unless the system changes. But changing system takes time not for a year, it could be decades..But if , history could happen the soonest its fantastic, then we can call the filipinos fantasticflips. Try to visit my blogsite a filipinoweb or call it flipweb, we could share our thoughts its ; http://flipantasticweb.blogspot.com.

  2. 2 mark anthony February 20, 2008 at 7:16 am

    why does philippines need to face this kind of a worst scenario.????
    it’s look like a childish act of our government in continuing the investigation about Lozada’s accusation towards the government./…
    are they not aware of the fact that filipinos have more worst problems than srguing in this stupid allegations…????
    we should accept the fact that politicians are corruptor of our own money.???
    we cannot acheive progress if this will be always the scenario that filipinos will be experiencing everyday????

  3. 3 Toe February 20, 2008 at 8:32 am

    Hi myepinoy. I don’t know if you know what I do here in Cambodia but part of my job is to defend our country. I may rant and rave about corruption and politics with fellow Filipinos but when I’m with other nationalities, I have to defend our people and nation. It’s like in a family… I may fight with my siblings, but when other people fight them, I will defend my brothers and sisters to death.

    I think that is also our job as OFWs. We know that there is something wrong with our nation, though great our countrymen may be. But when other people ask, we still have to stand our ground and be proud of who we are. Usually, when other people ask me about politics in our country, my reply is… that is democracy hard at work in my country.

    But honestly, I get kind of pissed when other nationalities ask sensitive matters about our country. I don’t ask Pakistanis about who murdered Benazir Bhutto. I don’t ask Saudi Arabians about the rape victim who was “pardoned” by the king. Even Americans… I don’t ask them why they let the subprime mortgage crisis happen or why there are so many campus killings in the United States. I think that it’s all just a matter of respect. Each country has its own problems but we also have things that we could be proud of.

    I think it was Suharto who said about Indonesia.. we are a poor country, but we don’t have to let the other people know.

    Like you, I am also proud to be a Filipino… despite all the problems we face, despite all those jerks who are trying to bring us down.

  4. 4 rhodora February 23, 2008 at 3:47 am

    I salute you, Myepinoy, for STILL being proud of your country. A lot of ‘em Filipinos abroad say they get embarrassed when admitting they are Filipinos.

    I’m also proud to be a Filipino, though I’m afraid I’m already losing hope on my country. :(

  5. 5 lerms February 23, 2008 at 3:43 pm

    We cannot deny our roots and our true identity. Once a filipino always a filipino.Even though some become an adopted sons and daughters of other nation still a part of them will crave to go home and visit the country.. I agree with Toe we have to defend our country be it in good or bad situation. Because our country is our home. Just like in any family, we have to protect it.

    This is life.. when there is a good news about the country and about being a Filipino we are so proud and we let world knows we are a Filipino.

    Iám a proud Filipino!

  6. 6 bw February 23, 2008 at 11:45 pm

    According to the Transparency International Corruption Perceptions index, Pinas is tied at no. 132 amongst 179 countries ( 179 being worst).

    check this out :

    http://www.infoplease.com/ipa/A0781359.html

    It is worthwhile to know that Pinas is still heaven compared to other countries in terms of overall human development. The good thing is most of know what is wrong with the country and more importantly, what is wrong with us. The more we understand what is wrong with us rather than shrugging our shoulders and say what the heck, the more we are driven to change.

    me says: Another cause of shame for us Pinoys are two of our presidents landing in the 10 most corrupt in the world: No. 2 is Makoy, no.10 is Erap. Perhaps there will be another one coming… And, did you know that when I attended the money laundering seminar, the faces of these two men are part of the slide presentation. Grrrrrrrrr.

    I thought the lecturer is biased on Pinoys and I asked him personally if he did it with malice. He told, sorry Mr…., no malice intended but this the truth. To prove that what he is doing is “trabaho lang”, he gave me the clippings and the web site. please check this.

  7. 7 bw February 23, 2008 at 11:46 pm

    Correction please – tied at 131 not 132.

  8. 8 dan February 24, 2008 at 5:03 am

    wAAAAAAaaaaaaaah!!!!!! I feel so unlucky,,,coz im part of this country!!!!!!!!!!

  9. 9 SexyMom February 26, 2008 at 3:55 am

    I used to work in an international bank with HQ in Manila–and represented by about 60 nationalities. I am proud to say that despite all our national turmoils, we Filipinos were generally respected. The foreigners were with us, cheered with us, lifted our morales in the various political stages that we went through. Some of them even walked in EDSA with us. Manila, is of course, their second home, and they cannot just say bad things about us.

    Just like us, they never lost hope–they had faith in our country. Why else would they have stayed if they felt otherwise?

    Even in my travels the past 15 years, people have always been amazed with how we bounce back. Yes, there were some who asked about the state of our nation. I could only say that they could look at me, as one shining example of one proud of her country, proud to be Filipina. When they asked about security (that they heard from CNN or BBC, I just said that the security situation in US or UK could be no different from ours–terrorism is global. Maybe, even worse with them. There was no need for me to enumerate the lapses of our leaders.

    But with forum such as blogs or open discussions with fellow Filipinos, I can only voice out my displeasure.

    I just wish we could get to the bottom of this all. As I mentioned time and again, what our country needs is a spiritual revolution, others say a moral revolution—a change in our hearts, to see the light and follow it, to do what is right, to folow the rules, in obedience to the teachings of our faith. And everything else will follow. If millions of Filipinos will do the same, the forces of the good can prevail over the bad. OUR COUNTRY CAN BE GREAT AGAIN.

    In the meantime, I will be vigilant wth what is happening nowadays—KNOW THE TRUTH! Then take steps, do my share, no matter how small.

  10. 10 mamie ami February 26, 2008 at 1:48 pm

    Let us look at it this way, the reason why all these are happening again is because, we Filipinos will never allow ourselves to be trampled on even by our own kababayans, those Filipinos who do not give a damn if they tarnish the name of our great race or not.

    Filipinos brought PEOPLE POWER in the global lexicon and we are innovating. In the meantime, let’s continue defending the FILIPINOS who have been working really hard to worthy of the name.

  11. 11 miss choi June 27, 2008 at 1:21 pm

    Hi there! This is really late, but I didn’t know I was mentioned here (until I checked technorati). Thanks for the special mention :D

  12. 12 Dine Racoma September 20, 2008 at 7:57 pm

    good luck, myepinOy, for the PBA’s single post for commentary :)

  13. 13 Katrina June 24, 2009 at 12:48 am

    i dont know about you guys but i am proud to be a filipino. i’m in london now but i still scream in the middle of the streets saying im a filipino, nothing has changed. yes, we have problems, some people have some issues in our country but the only thing i can say? that’s who we are. we’re not filipinos if we’re not corrupted, we are not filipinos if we don’t bring our whole barangay to a friend’s party or a friend’s friend party. i am so proud to be a filipino that i don’t even care what other people think of us. i just don’t. that’s who we are. and just accept it. that’s our roots. “ganito tayo pinalaki, ano magagawa mo?” yes we’re different, but i like it that we’re different. i dont care if i have brown eyes, short, or something, that’s who i am. i’m….. just proud to be a filipino, no doubts. and i keep my head up high.

  14. 14 Jesse Guevara October 18, 2012 at 12:14 am

    Mabuhay!
    Kapag napasyal ako sa ganitong uri ng blog, na may pagpapahalaga at pagpupugay bilang PILIPINO ay may paghanga akong nadarama. Pinatitibay nito ang aking pananalig bilang tunay na Pilipino. Marami na ang nagigising sa ating mga kababayan. Kahit papaano, higit na mainam ito kaysa mga panooring walang katuturan sa telebisyon. At ang mahalaga sa lahat, binubuhay muli and ating pagtitiwala at pagmamalasakit sa ating sambayanan.

    Nawa’y magpatuloy pa ang mga pagpapala sa iyo; NGAYON, BUKAS, at MAGPAKAILANMAN!

    Tanging tunay na Pilipino lamang ang wagas na magmamahal sa kapwa Pilipino: IsangIsip, IsangSalita, IsangGawa; IsangKapatiran = IsangPilipino

    Kuya Jes,
    wagasmalaya.blogspot.com

  15. 15 myepinoy October 19, 2012 at 6:04 pm

    @Jesse Guevara

    Salamat sir.

  16. 16 Jes March 29, 2013 at 3:31 pm

    This is from wagasmalaya.blogspot.com
    I rec’d a query from you asking what web host I’m using.

    It’s a Blogger from Google. It’s free.

    Jes

  17. 18 Fishing Superstars Season 2 hack July 9, 2014 at 4:37 am

    I’m gone to say to my little brother, that he should also visit this web
    site on regular basis to take updated from most recent news.


  1. 1 Deal or No Deal « myepinOy’s bLOG Trackback on February 21, 2008 at 3:53 pm
  2. 2 In Search for the Truth–The D Spot Opens its doors to your opinions, suggestions, reactions, atbp : The D Spot Trackback on February 22, 2008 at 11:25 am
  3. 3 This is not all about Michael Phelps or me… « myepinOy’s bLOG Trackback on August 22, 2008 at 7:28 pm
  4. 4 The 2008 Philippine Blog Awards » Blog Archive » Best Single Post Finalists Trackback on September 20, 2008 at 6:45 pm
  5. 5 Here Comes Philippine Blog Awards 2008! | Prudence and Madness Trackback on September 21, 2008 at 4:39 am
  6. 6 Screwing the Screwed! « myepinOy’s bLOG Trackback on October 8, 2008 at 6:41 am
  7. 7 WTF: Gods Must Be Crazy « myepinOy’s bLOG Trackback on June 24, 2009 at 3:34 pm
  8. 8 President Corazon “Cory” Aquino, 1933 – 2009 « myepinOy’s bLOG Trackback on August 1, 2009 at 2:38 am
  9. 9 We Are The ‘Fuckiest’ News Ever « myepinOy’s bLOG Trackback on October 18, 2011 at 10:59 pm

Leave a Reply

Categories


