Memories of EDSA Revolution 1986

Today marks the start of the 20th year anniversary of  The EDSA People Power Revolution 1986.

Personally, EDSA Revolution means more than just a four-day peaceful and non-violent uprising of millions of Filipinos in 1986 against an authoritarian rule of Marcos. It is neither a thing of the past nor another story written in history where most if not all Filipinos have already forgotten but rather a lifelong experience of my liberation, my freedom, and my act of courage and bravery, one of the most unforgettable and scariest moments, and the most fulfilling act I ever did in my life.

Indeed, my country was liberated from the dictator’s grip and so was I but it was more than that. Fear, I had them all piled up inside me the past couple of years starting from the unusual deaths and disappearances of some people I know. Fear, that had me whispering my anger in smog.  But 1986 EDSA Revolution changed all that. Suddenly, fear to me was just a four letter word.  I lost it but I got  myself back.

Even death that stared at my face with its terrifying scent that made my stomach to grumble, it was nothing. I stood tall. I had my faith in the Unknown, in myself, and the people I was with, provided the unusual inspiration and inner strength to willingly risk my body and life with so much courage and pride for something I believed is right.

Indeed, I took the biggest risk of my life, got the courage to say “Enough is Enough!” At last, my country learned how to speak and stand once again to redeem itself and celebrate freedom.

My memories are still fresh even after 20 years had passed. I could still remember those seconds and minutes when throng of people, my wife, and me faced the Tanks of Marcos. We were not armed. We only had our faith, our bodies, our collective spirits, and our voices “Kapit Bisig!” against those rolling machines of death.

I was there and so my wife and my unborn child. We were there.

That was EDSA.

Note:
One week after EDSA People Power, we found out that my wife was one month pregnant with our first baby.

Ortigas Avenue is the place where we faced the tanks of Marcos. The place (an open field) where EDSA Shrine and Robinson Galleria stand is where the tanks retreated.

Technorati: , ,

9 Responses to “Memories of EDSA Revolution 1986”


  1. 1 gabby February 22, 2006 at 4:05 pm

    tuloy pa rin ang pakikibaka …..

  2. 2 Lily Nguyen November 3, 2007 at 8:33 pm

    Hi,

    I’m doing a history fair on the topic of the EDSA revolution of 1986 and I need an interview so I was wondering if you could help me do one since you were there as a witness? All I need are 10 questions that I would email to you, and you would just email me back with your response. I would be really greatful if you could help me.

    Thanks!
    -Lily

  3. 4 concerned citizen May 21, 2008 at 3:46 pm

    well, actually, it’s should not be People Power but GOD’S POWER.. why? because it shows how powerful God is for no one in this event died and its because of God’s grace and maybe God became jealous for we’ve considered ourselves as a hero in this revolution but God is the one. Because of God’s grace no people got hurt. So let us consider God as our saviour in this happening.
    and not only in this but also to other things..

    THANK you and GOD BLESS to all Filipinos..

  4. 5 chai May 21, 2008 at 3:52 pm

    hindi dapat naten kalimutan c God s lhat ng bagay.. and if we want something to do, lets just pray for it kasi God will listen and our faith will grant it..and sa huli hindi dapat naten isipin ang sa sarili naten kasi. Everything got started at Him (GOD)and finds it purpose to Him..

    God created us not to harm others and ourselves and para lang magpakayaman ant magpakasaya. we are here to serve God with all our hearts and soul..dahil sa huli it will not matter kung sino ka o kung ano ang meron ka kundi kung ano ang nagawa mo for others and to please God.
    we must have our own VISION, COMMITMENT IN EVERTHING WE DO, TRUST IN GOD, BECAUSE IT WILL AFFECT US AS OUR CULTURE..

    para lamang ito sa improvement ng bawat isa..


  1. 1 Deal or No Deal « myepinOy’s bLOG Trackback on February 25, 2007 at 12:35 pm
  2. 2 I am a Filipino! Who am I? « myepinOy’s bLOG Trackback on February 19, 2008 at 2:14 pm
  3. 3 Gloria Arroyo: I am not perfect! « myepinOy’s bLOG Trackback on February 26, 2008 at 8:14 am
  4. 4 President Corazon “Cory” Aquino, 1933 – 2009 « myepinOy’s bLOG Trackback on August 1, 2009 at 2:34 am
Comments are currently closed.



Tweets

Categories


