Bayan Ko

This song has accompanied most protest movements in the Philippines since 1920 until today. It depicts the Filipino struggle for freedom.  and  during The EDSA Revolution in 1986, this became the battle song of Filipinos who defied the Marcos government.

BAYAN KO

Ang bayan kong Pilipinas
Lupain ng ginto’t bulaklak
Pag-ibig ang sa kanyang palad
Nag-alay ng ganda’t dilag.
At sa kanyang yumi at ganda
Dayuhan ay nahalina
Bayan ko, binihag ka
Nasadlak sa dusa.

Ibon mang may layang lumipad
Kulungin mo at umiiyak
Bayan pa kayang sakdal dilag
Ang di magnasang makaalpas!
Pilipinas kong minumutya
Pugad ng luha ko’t dalita
Aking adhika,
Makita kang sakdal laya!

: : : : : : : : : : :

source: http://www.youtube.com/user/theDivas08

Orignal Tagalog lyrics by Jose Corazon de Jesus and melody by Constancio De Guzman.

Technorati: , , , ,

9 Responses to “Bayan Ko”


  1. 1 gabby February 26, 2006 at 11:39 am

    Bayan Ko … patawarin mo ako …

  2. 2 myepinoy February 26, 2006 at 1:03 pm

    Gabby: Thank you. I guess everyone of us should…

  3. 3 skylon October 3, 2006 at 8:31 am

    ang bayan ko’ anu po meaning ng bawat linya nito???

    plz. paKisaGOt…mmmm

    nid lng pO…^^

  4. 4 myepinoy October 3, 2006 at 9:18 am

    Skylon: Simple lang ang meaning ko sa buong kanta. Na ang Pilipinas ay Maganda at maraming kayamanan (lupain ng ginto at bulaklak).

    Dahil dito, maraming ganid na dayuhan ang naginteres at binihag ang ating bayan. Simula noon hangga ngayon, ang bayan natin ay kahalintulad sa isang ibon na nakakulong sa hawla, walang laya at nagdurusa. At yan ang gusto ng may akda, maging tunay na malaya ang Pilipinas.

    Sana naayon sa paniwala ng may akda ang aking paliwanag at sana natugunan ko ang iyong kahilingan. Salamat.

  5. 5 ivy February 28, 2008 at 3:29 am

    research namin about this song…………..hay…………..ganda ng song pero ngayon parang wala na itong sense

  6. 6 deliailed February 28, 2008 at 3:48 am

    the song, for why it is sung during protest movements, depicts the present situation of our country. As people of this land, we want to be free- of independence. actions have been revealed by the past movements, drive the Filipinos to fight for justice in our land- to cast out those government leaders who we think are not supposed to lead us.

  7. 7 deliailed February 28, 2008 at 3:49 am

    the song, for why it is sung during protest movements, depicts the present situation of our country. As people of this land, we want to be free- of independence. actions have been revealed by the past movements drive the Filipinos to fight for justice in our land- to cast out those government leaders who we think are not supposed to lead us.

  8. 8 JR Vincent L. Ranan August 15, 2011 at 11:54 am

    kuya/ate

    pakisagot naman kong anu ang ibig sa bihin ng kantang “BAYAN KO”
    plssss

    Para sa aming project sa filipino……………plssss


  1. 1 Gloria Arroyo: I am not perfect! « myepinOy’s bLOG Trackback on February 29, 2008 at 5:59 pm

Leave a Reply

Tweets

Categories


