We are who we are

Everyday as I come home from work, I have (it has become) a habit of opening my p.c. and connecting it  to the net immediately. It was as if I have not opened a computer  in the office.  Mind you, the urge is so great.  I cannot let each day pass by without doing this, kahit isang saglit, kahit sandali at kahit pa hours, kailangan gawin ko ito.

The symptoms are clear. I know. I just do  not want to admit it to myself ;  that I am becoming or have become a full-blown Internet or blog addict. For reason that I cannot explain, basta, I still do not consider myself as one.  (ang kulit, hehehe) Probably this is my kind of self-shame avoidance or simply, I do not want to face it.

Like most, if not all our government officials and politicians, they too obviously have different kinds addiction — addicted to power, addicted for money, addicted to fame, addicted to using and abusing people and addicted to corruption. They too know what it is like to be one. They too know the symptoms, and yet, they too, do not want to admit it or consider themselves as one.

How can they ignore the fact that people are suffering because of their crazy acts? How can they do them repeatedly and every time, they always find ways to justify them as acts done for the common good? Is it not obvious that they too have that illusions or hallucinations that most addicts have?

For all we know, you or me, all of us ordinary citizens, are the ones they call as addicts. Addicts to their rule, addicts to their extravagance, addicts to their abuses, addicts to their stupidity and to all the bad things they do. (Contrary to what we are saying and shouting in the streets, still, many of us do not consider them as one.)

How can we ignore the facts that scandalous acts by these people sell newspapers and at the same time, television and radio stations get the ratings they want, columnists and writers make money writing about their stupidity and lapses in judgment, and many still cry when they die? Is it not very obvious that many of us have illusions too? Perhaps, we have delusions that someday we will become them. (No wonder, many of us happily send them to heaven rather than mercilessly kicking them straight to hell.  Or could this be  the right way, we just let them enjoy for a while.)

Perhaps, many of us are far above the ground. Probably many of us have some kind of self-shame-avoidance as well or,  many of us are addicts beyond rehabilitation.

Are we or are we not? I wish we were not!

Related to this post: Shame on you F.., User number 69

Technorati tags : , , , , , , ,

11 Responses to “We are who we are”


  1. 1 bingskee July 13, 2006 at 3:08 pm

    oh, my, and i thought i was the only one with that habit. though i dont do it right after i get home (you know how busy moms are).

    as to the politicians, they are not addicts but blind officials – blinded by power and money.

  2. 2 Jayred July 14, 2006 at 8:46 am

    Philippine government officials…addicted to corruption? Is it the right way to put it?

    Myepinoy, addict ka na! LOL. Read your other blog (Filipino version). Nakakatawa yung addict story mo doon.

  3. 3 jane July 14, 2006 at 6:16 pm

    being addicted to corruption? that’s scary! I hope I’m not addicted to anything except my puppy😉

  4. 4 me July 14, 2006 at 8:53 pm

    Bingskee: I guess this is all because of flock browser. This browser has a built-in feed (rss -xml) reader, so everytime I am home, I am always eager to find out what’s new with blogs I like, news, sports, etc… Ang dali kasi magbrowse.

    About the politicians, sometimes i am running out of right or bad words to describe them. Kakasuka na.

  5. 5 me July 14, 2006 at 8:56 pm

    Jayred: I guess every nasty words o mas nastier pa is appropriate.

    Me, addict na? Nasa denial stage pa…. LOL

  6. 6 me July 14, 2006 at 9:04 pm

    Jane: BTW, how is your puppy going. Who is taking care when you go to the office?

    I guess, even your puppy feels the effects of what these people are doing.

    This guy understands dogs very well. “I’ve seen a look in dogs’ eyes, a quickly vanishing look of amazed contempt, and I am convinced that basically dogs think humans are nuts.” – John Steinbeck

    You may read more of them here Something about dogs.

  7. 7 Eric July 15, 2006 at 1:05 pm

    Powerful commentary itong entry mo regarding the ongoing corruption with our local politicians. God, I hope we will someday have a true leader na addiction-free sa power and ill-gotten wealth.

  8. 8 myepinoy July 18, 2006 at 7:51 pm

    Eric: I also hope that our country move forward. My children are growing up fast.

  9. 9 Lani August 10, 2006 at 10:53 pm

    Nag-co-confess na ako dito, addict na rin ako sa internet. Hay, my life isn’t complete without the NET. Pero di ako maaadik sa mga kahangalang ginagawa ng mga buwisit na pulitiko. Kainis sila, sarap ipa-firing squad. Ang puso ko, Mang Rolly baka atakihin ako dito🙂

  10. 10 myepinoy August 12, 2006 at 6:55 am

    Lani: Ha ha ha. Welcome. Tama, mag net ka na lang, baka atakihin ka nga sa puso.


  1. 1 Jun Ducat, Cayetano, Coseteng and Ermita « myepinOy’s bLOG Trackback on March 28, 2007 at 9:57 pm

Leave a Reply

Tweets

Categories


