A stock that could make you a millionaire

I was sitting in one of the very comfortable couches located at our customer-trading lounge yesterday. While attending to the concerns of one of our customers, a guy on my left, a new customer I guess, approached me and asked me this question. “If one billionaire is willing make you a millionaire by giving you a thousand shares of a U.S. company, what would it be?”

My tired eyes brightened and so my face. In my mind “Aha, this guy is trying to pull a trick on me.” He had no idea that 10 years ago when I started working with the U.S. Equities Market, I have been salivating on one particular stock and dreamed of owning a share or shares of it. It has been in my mind ever since I found it in Reuters while writing my daily materials for our customers about NYSE and NASDAQ gainers and losers, hot or not, buy, sell or hold and all sorts of information.

Although (nowadays) my eyes blink in succession and faster than normal due to computer related stress, this time it did not. I told him “I would settle for 500 shares or even 100 shares.” The guy was surprised and thought I was kidding. “Where would that 500 or 100 shares bring you? That is only a hundred thousand dollars for 500 shares at US$200 or two hundred thousand for a thousand shares.” He laughed, “Yes, that would make you a millionaire if converted to Philippine Peso. Is that what you are thinking?

I said, “No! We are talking about becoming a millionaire in U.S. dollars right?” “Right!” He answered. “Definitely not a thousand shares of IBM – International Business Machine, MSFT – Microsoft Corp., QQQQ – NASDAQ 100, CSCO – Cisco Systems, INTC – Intel Corp or QCOM -Qualcomm Inc. So what is it?”

I told myself “I got you!”

So what really is this stock that I am salivating to own and that a hundred shares or even fifty shares would make me a millionaire in U.S. dollars?

Warren Buffett If you followed the news three weeks ago, or you know Warren Buffett, the Forbes number two richest man in the world who donated US$37 billion or 85% of his fortune to B&MGF (Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation), you will have the idea of which company I wanted to own a thousand, five hundred or one hundred shares of stocks. I am talking about the company owned by this man. The company is called Berkshire Hathaway Inc. traded in NYSE with a symbol of BRKa.

As of yesterday’s market close – 14 August 06, the last price for Berkshire Hathaway Class A share was US$92,685.00 per share. Yes, that is true, US$92,685.00 per share. Click here and here to check.

It is now your turn to compute. How many figures did your calculator come up with? Am I right that owning a hundred or even fifty shares would make me a millionaire?

You may wonder what happened to the guy who asked me the question above? He was astonished and shook his head faster than my blinking eyes. Never thought that there is something like this traded in the U.S. stock market.

Now you know why Warren Buffett can afford to donate such a huge amount of money.

Interesting reads:
The Essays of Warren Buffett: Lessons for Corporate America
Letters of Warren Buffett regarding pledges to make gifts of Berkshire stocks and how his plan will be carried out..
Conversation with Warren Buffett by Carol J. Loomis, Fortune editor-at-large

Technorati tags: , , , , ,

17 Responses to “A stock that could make you a millionaire”


  1. 1 ipanema August 15, 2006 at 8:48 am

    Wow, now everything makes more sense. 🙂 Yes, I wish to own just a few hundred shares. How I wish!

    Interesting blog you’ve here.

  2. 2 myepinoy August 15, 2006 at 9:00 am

    Did you know that owning a thousand shares of the Berkshire Class B shares could make you a millionaire as well. The closing price as of yesterday was US$3,080.00. Check the price here

  3. 3 myepinoy August 15, 2006 at 11:13 am

    Ipanema: Thank you.

    If there really is someone (a genie perhaps…lol) who would offer me a thousand shares of this company, I will give you 20 shares.

    Is that okay with you?

  4. 4 racky August 15, 2006 at 12:08 pm

    hmmm … thankxxx for d tip😉

  5. 5 Sidney August 15, 2006 at 12:51 pm

    I guess it is too late to invest now in his company.
    Who is the next Warren Buffett? Any tip?

  6. 6 Sidney August 15, 2006 at 1:00 pm

    Oh, and I linked you to my photo blog.
    So, you can’t refuse me a good tip now!😉

  7. 7 Jayred August 15, 2006 at 1:50 pm

    Written like a stock market expert.🙂 Galing, Rolly.

  8. 8 senorito_ako August 15, 2006 at 9:17 pm

    His name is usually sprinkled all over fortune magazine right ? I’ve read of him… he’s not high profile like bill gates though.

  9. 9 Eric August 16, 2006 at 7:45 am

    W.B. is one amazing personality. Even his chikdren are admirable as well in for being low key about their enormous wealth. And what a task they have on their hands for distributing to various charities the money their father had recently entrusted upon them.

  10. 10 ipanema August 16, 2006 at 7:50 am

    l’ll gladly accept that 20 shares. 🙂

  11. 11 Eric August 16, 2006 at 8:27 am

    W.B. is one amazing personality. Even his children are admirable as well for being low key about their enormous wealth. And what a task they have on their hands for distributing to various charities the money their father had recently entrusted upon them.

  12. 12 bw August 16, 2006 at 10:58 pm

    96 grand a share? totally unaffordable! I wonder why the stock didn’t split. well, if the share price increases ten-fold ( heaven knows how long), you’d be having your million bucks – well, almost..

  13. 14 Maggy October 11, 2007 at 1:22 am

    Hi there,
    Can you please tell me how to buy shares and where and how much are they? I’d like to buy some and become a millionaire:) I got so many debts and I’d like to help my family,,and because I am sick of being poor.

  14. 15 romelettedj November 25, 2007 at 7:18 pm

    nice tip again.

    you know why i wanted to know something about the stockmarket ? because we have some share (maliit lang naman) in one of the company you mentioned in this entry ( first company, fourth paragraph).

    part of the benefit when we were still employed there.


  1. 1 Going into stock market « myepinOy’s bLOG Trackback on September 4, 2007 at 9:19 pm
  2. 2 About stock market and bread « myepinOy’s bLOG Trackback on March 5, 2008 at 7:12 pm

Leave a Reply

Tweets

Categories


