Am I normal or ab-ove normal?

Last Friday, I was invited by my tennis buddy to watch him play his singles match in the All Filipino Tennis Association Tennis Tournament. Although I was halfhearted to go because the weather was not good, (windy and a little dusty due to sandstorm three hours ago) I obliged myself to see his game out of pakikisama (similar to: for the sake of friendship).

The game lasted for two hours; my tennis buddy lost the match with scores of 7-2, 4-7, 5-7, all tiebreakers.

We get out of the tennis court at around 11:00 pm. While going to the parking area, he was saying sayang (similar to: I should have won.). Although, he felt sad for losing the game, somehow, I could tell from his face that he was happy about his performance. This was his first time to play singles in a tournament and to stay in the match for two hours was an achievement in itself for a new player like him.

While he seemed to enjoy his feat, I felt bad and remorseful inside because when on the crucial second set tiebreaker, the score at 4 – 5, my buddy called an in shot (about six inches inside his court) as out. His opponent contested the call but my tennis buddy stood firm on his decision. Although I saw it was in, I kept my mouth shut! (Some tournaments here do not have an umpire except for finals game. The standing rule is gentleman’s act of honesty.)

I could understand that at crucial moment like this, some people has the tendency to forget what is right and what is wrong and that dishonesty happens out of sheer desire to win at all cost, desperation, or somewhat similar to Gloria’s lapse of judgment.

What I could not understand is why I kept my mouth shut when I was supposed to open it to speak out the truth; why I was silent when I knew that being so I would compromise my beliefs and my principle of fairness and honesty that I hold dear.

Although my situation at that time was somewhat strange because: I was not an umpire nor a party to the game of two supposedly gentlemen, I was never asked about it, my tennis buddy was the one who called the shot (which I find odd to contradict at that time), I was wondering why my inner self tells me that this does not give me a reason to just keep quiet.

So instead of going home happy because my tennis buddy accomplished something that I was a part of, I was instead very sad. Damn it! This little thing bothered me a lot. I should have known and done better than that! (Am I going crazy?)

Sometimes, people can learn all the skills in the world but the hardest thing to master is doing what is right at times when there is a call for it. At times, one either comes out as a hero, a villain, and a fool or just like me.

Am I normal or ab-ove normal?

Related post: Who Knows?, What is the English of…

Technorati tags: , , , ,

6 Responses to “Am I normal or ab-ove normal?”


  1. 1 Lani August 20, 2006 at 11:33 pm

    Ye, I agree. I think it’s in our culture, the “deadma” syndrome. Mabuti na lang natalo siya para di gaanong mabigat sa konsensiya (sama ko ata).🙂

  2. 2 beth August 21, 2006 at 3:12 am

    Ewan ko Rollie, sometimes you don’t really have the perspective of the other person. Its also possible that in his view it was really an outside shot. Parang mahirap magsabi while the game is going on, pero siguro I would have asked (jokingly) him after the game. Kung pinansin mo siya at that particular moment, it might not really do any good, probably magkainitan lang ang ulo ninyo. Tingnan mo ngayon, siya happy na, ikaw namomrobelma pa😉
    Minsan sinabihan ako ng kasama ko na nasaktan siya sa pagiging brutally honest ko, sabi nya alam niya it is for her own good pero masakit pa rin. Ako nag-isip ako, when i said the things i told her maybe it was not just out of keeping her straight but a part of it was also being self righteous (minsan double motivation din ako, i can feel isip ko lang sana mas malaking percentage nuong concern kaysa sa self rigteousness), so minsan kailangan din ng timing (yung talagang clear na yung head mo) before you talk with somebody…
    Anyway, don’t be hard on yourself, there will be other opportunities to talk to him about it, in the meantime just chill out and smile! Good morning!!!

  3. 3 Wil August 23, 2006 at 3:10 am

    if it was me, i would not say anything, but i will ask tennis buddy later about that shot. since a spectator is now allowed to question a shot anyway, it shouldn’t bother you. it should bother your tennis buddy, but not you. that’s my opinion.

    btw, i came to your site via the post about the political killings/disappearances of those two leftist, female students. it’s a shame that these occurrences are happening. one would think that disappearances only happen during martial law, not during a democracy.

  4. 4 Sidney August 23, 2006 at 7:43 am

    You should read the book “Kite Runner” by Khaled Hosseini.
    It is all about guilt, honor, fear and redemption! 😉

  5. 5 rolly August 23, 2006 at 2:03 pm

    Hey, tukayo pala kita. Mahirap pag sa isang tournament eh walang umpire. That can easily spell trouble especially if both protagonists are passionate. It will be what you saw against what I did see. I, too, have started playing tennis and badminton and in both, gentleman’s game ang laro namin so I know how frustrating it could be if I see a call made by my opponent as different from what I saw. hindi pa tournament yun ha.

  6. 6 ladybug August 24, 2006 at 10:04 am

    Hi myepinoy! I agree with the previous opinions. Buti na lang natalo siya. And don’t be hard on yourself. After all, kung meron mang dapat makonsensiya, yung tennis buddy mo dapat. Thanks for dropping by my blog.🙂


Leave a Reply

Tweets

Categories


