The digger of the ditch

I would like to share to you a simple story that my philosophy professor told me when I was still in college.

I am posting the story as is, with the same words as it was told to me many years ago. I will not add my thought nor will I talk about the relevance of this story to my life and to my philosophy class.

How and why this story got stuck in my limited brain cells this long, is for you to find out – if you care to understand.

So clear your minds and read on.

Not too long ago there were two good friends. Kulas was an ambitious kid, a risk-taker and a dreamer. Everyday, he tells himself “I will become big one day.” On the other hand his friend Pedro, was his exact opposite. Pedro never dreamed of anything and was satisfied with his life.

Kulas left to follow and fulfill his dreams while Pedro stayed.

After many years, the two good friends met. Somewhere near their old homes, he found his old friend doing something by the roadside. After the usual kumustahan (exchanges of hellos and how are you), Kulas, now a successful man began asking Pedro these questions.

Kulas: What are you doing?
Pedro: I am digging the ditch.
Kulas: Why are you digging the ditch?
Pedro: This is my work.
Kulas: Why do you need to work?
Pedro: I need to work so I can earn money?
Kulas: Why do you need money?
Pedro: I need money so I can buy food.
Kulas: Why do you need food?
Pedro: I need food so I can eat.
Kulas: Why do you need to eat?
Pedro: I need to eat so I will have strength.
Kulas: Why do you need strength?
Pedro: I need strength so I can do what I am doing now.

My question, what are you doing?

Related post: The never-ending stories 2006, The story of our lives.

Technorati tags: , , , , , ,

10 Responses to “The digger of the ditch”


  1. 1 ipanema August 23, 2006 at 5:29 pm

    The digger’s story is like most of our stories. Work to have money…etc.

    This is thought provoking myepinoy. Thanks.🙂

  2. 2 Eric August 24, 2006 at 1:00 am

    Unfortunately, a great percentage of the world’s workforce share this mindset.

    This somewhat reminds me of an excerpt from a book I read about wealth consciousness. It was written by Dwayne Dyer.

  3. 3 melai August 24, 2006 at 5:20 am

    para palang ako si Pedro …….

  4. 4 beth August 24, 2006 at 7:15 am

    maybe if pedro asked kulas the same question it will also ultimately end the same way… different reasons and purposes in between but the end will be the same. di ba parang cycle? parang yung kantang “where have all the flowers gone” (ngek…lumang luma na yon!) daming pinuntahan pero bumalik din sa umpisa…

  5. 5 Eric August 24, 2006 at 8:58 am

    My error, it is Wayne Dyer.

    The book is “Real Magic,” and the exact page where the passage I was talking about is on page 177, item #1, second paragraph.

    BTW, I had posted an entry about this book. The URL on my site is:

    senorenrique.blogspot.com/2005/11/featured-book-real-magic.html

    Also, many thanks for your kind words. I just hope I don’t bore you guys with my reminiscing … hehehe.

  6. 6 racky August 24, 2006 at 2:49 pm

    buy & sell ng balot!😉

  7. 7 Major Tom August 25, 2006 at 12:28 pm

    Its what some called “a vicious cycle”, I have read not a few times that many get so tired and sick about this kind of routines that they’d rather earn less just to spend hours of solitariness and easy life in rural farms…

  8. 8 nix August 26, 2006 at 8:32 am

    dramah mu nmn!!😀

  9. 10 kathy September 4, 2006 at 11:43 pm

    My question too….what are u doing? hehe…:) Rolly musta na? goshh! its been ages….im sorry na, before i really cant access ur blog and what ive found out too is i have the wrong URL on my blogroll ;( thats why cant access even ur wordpress!
    Nasa Pinas ka pa rin ba? or ur back to Saudi again? Musta na rin si esmi tsaka mga tsikiting ? Kwento ka naman minsan, miss chatting to u😉 buzz mo ko when ur free….

    Ingatz po!


Leave a Reply

Tweets

Categories


