Thank you to the ONE that matters the most

Have you ever wondered why at times we felt that the money we worked hard for just passed by our hands like water? “Parang dumaan lang sa ating mga palad.” is the usual expression we can say. Our logical mind quickly tells us that this is more of economics than anything else is.

Beyond the logical explanation, would you agree with me that there is (or there could be) something spiritual about this? Perhaps this is happening because the ONE source of everything have not been given the rightful “Thank You” that HE alone deserves.

Here is something for you to reflect on.

1Cr 10:26 — For the earth [is] the Lord’s, and the fulness thereof.

And here is a simple story that I love to share to you.

Long time ago, there was a woman who came from a famine-stricken country looking for the king. Walking inside the king’s place, she saw a man on top of the ladder fixing the gutter. As she approaches, the man on the ladder saw her and asked “Hello madam! Is there anything I can do to help you?”

The woman replied, “I am looking for the King.”

The man on the ladder went down and asked, “What is it that brings you here to see the King.”

“I need to speak to the King. I need his help desperately.” the woman replied in a very sad voice.

“I am the King,” said the man.

The woman was astonished. She could not believe that the king with all his power and riches could be this simple and normal like all the rest of the human beings.

“Yes, I am the King. What can I do to help you?

The woman kneeled and bowed down her head and said, “You highness, I came from a far-away place where there is famine and people are dying. I have four children who need food to survive. Your majesty, I desperately need your help.”

The King asked her to stand up. While the woman was standing up, the King called his treasurer and told him. “Give this woman a thousand Riyals for her first child.”

The woman was so happy and said in a loud voice eyes looking at the sky, “Thanks be to GOD!

On hearing that, the King said to the treasurer, “Give this woman another thousand for her second child.”

The woman blurted with joy, “Thanks be to GOD!

“Give this woman another thousand for her third child,” the King said.

Thanks be to GOD!” the woman shouted.

“Give this woman another thousand for her fourth child.”

As she was overwhelmed with joy and gratitude for the king’s kindness, the woman said, “Thank you my King!”

Hearing the woman, the king said to his treasurer, “Take back all the money I gave her for her children!”

The woman was surprised. She could not think of anything that made the King decide to take back everything. “Your Majesty, what did I do that displeased you?”

“You know that I am human too. You know that as human I am like everyone. I am also selfish just like anybody else. I am no exception. Why should I give you that money? It is only God that gives, not Kings, not me nor any human beings.” the king replied.

“And why have you given me those money just to take them back afterwards?” the woman asked.

I have given you those money because God thru my heart told me to do so. Unfortunately, the moment you said thank you to me, somehow, God kept quiet. I ordered everything back because my pride, greed and selfishness took over my heart. And that is always the case for all mortals.” the king said.

Technorati tags: , , , , ,

14 Responses to “Thank you to the ONE that matters the most”


  1. 1 anoba September 11, 2006 at 8:08 am

    It could be but do you think God would do that? Just asking.

  2. 2 me September 11, 2006 at 8:12 am

    Anoba: No human beings can fathom God’s thought and action. If He will do that, (if you mean give and take), it could be. Afterall He is God.

    Thank you.

  3. 4 me September 11, 2006 at 9:01 am

    melai : AMEN! Amen! Amen!

  4. 5 eric aka senor enrique September 11, 2006 at 11:15 pm

    Great post, thanks for sharing God!🙂

    Anyway…

    I was once told that “money is God in action.”

    Meaning: that whenever we give a generous tip to a waitres , that waitress might have been asking God for help with her school tuition or for a sick child’s medication. And though us, God was able to answer her prayers.

    Since knowing about this, I would deliberately leave a couple of bucks in a seat in a bus or taxi or anywhere. Who knows? Someone who might find the money (or someone he knows) is in desperate need of it.

    I think this is also what others would refer to as the Law of Circulation.

  5. 6 She6anah September 12, 2006 at 12:23 am

    Hi =) I liked the moral, although not the story so much. I don’t like the kind anymore =p,, Anyways, what I wanted to say is that we have this same belief in Islam. If you keep giving back from your money (to the poor or needy), God would bless it. And God would bless it too if it were acquired by legal and rightful means (I mean not by stealing or as a bribe or such).
    Thanks for sharing =)

  6. 7 ipanema September 12, 2006 at 7:10 am

    Thanks for the story. Perhaps reason why money comes fleetingly is because we have a lot of bills to pay.🙂

    I thank God for many things: my life, family, and all the good things around us.

  7. 8 Sidney September 12, 2006 at 12:38 pm

    Seeing so much poverty everywhere makes me think that God is not rich. He gives the appearance of it, but I suspect some financial difficulties. ~Victor Hugo, Les Misérables, 1862

  8. 9 Major Tom September 12, 2006 at 2:46 pm

    I’ve never heard this parable before but for certain, it is a good one. truly, mortals are by nature selfish for in itself lies the notion of self-preservation…yet, I just hope that selfishness in men may not be as extreme for it would make this world a lot worse than it should be…

  9. 10 Lani September 13, 2006 at 12:40 am

    God is good all the time.

  10. 12 Jam September 13, 2006 at 4:00 pm

    I think this is one of the many things people forget, that is thanking God for everything.

  11. 13 Schumey September 15, 2006 at 12:20 pm

    The Lord giveth, the Lord taketh away. Cherish and share what you have and the Lord will give you more. Our policians should be reminded of this. Nothing is permanent in this world. What you have now can be taken away as fast as you can blink.

  12. 14 bingskee September 17, 2006 at 1:07 pm

    is very true indeed that humans, in their hour of abundance, forget to give thanks. very typical but we should learn to give thanks to the Lord God above because in him, we flourish.


Leave a Reply

Tweets

Categories


