Shades of my past and other things

The other day, I met and had a chance to talk to an old time friend and officemate. We used to work in the same bank in the Philippines. He was my partner in crime in discovering life, the exciting life of being young.

How exciting was it you may ask? Just imagine being in so many places at one night. I mean, from Makati Avenue, to Pasay Road to Pasong Tamo, to Taft Avenue, inside the Ermita-Malate area, to Binondo, the long stretch of Quezon Avenue to Timog to West Avenue and the Cubao Area then Samson Road and back to Quezon City. There were nights that we end up in the beaches of Cavite, Mindoro and Batangas or somewhere in Laguna or Tagaytay.

No, we were not just hopping and roaming the city and these places; we were enjoying and passing our nights away as if it was the last night of our lives. And oh my, this was all about Jackie. Yes, it was Jackie, the super woman. (Do not ask me who Jackie is. Please refer to this.)

Ah, those were the days. The days of being young and restless.

After recalling those trips to heaven (we thought it was at that time), we suddenly get back to reality. And as we get on to serious matters about family, kids, work and everything about life as opposed to the life we knew many years then, he asked me, Pare, how do you save?

How do I save was a tough question for me to answer when I was still young and restless but since my restlessness is restrained by responsibilities, I found an answer that somehow makes this question easier to answer.

My answer to his question is another question. It is “how much do you want to save?

How do you save? How much do you want to save? Which do you think is the right question?

Here is something from Socrates quoted by Plato: The art of living easily as to money is to pitch your scale of living one degree below your means.

Tags: , , , , ,

10 Responses to “Shades of my past and other things”


  1. 1 Lani October 20, 2006 at 12:51 am

    I agree with Socrates, but sometimes it’s really hard to do (lol). I live only once, so I will always make the most out of it. Eat, drink, and be merry because tomorrow I will die (lol).

  2. 2 Sidney October 20, 2006 at 6:18 am

    How do I save?
    One peso after the other!
    How much do I want to save?
    1,000,000,000,000,000,000,000,000,000,000,000,000,000,000,000.00
    pesos will do…
    Then I will enjoy life like you did in Ermita and I will date Jackie! She will be all mine!😉

    So you enjoyed your youth? Beer, s*x and drugs?😉

  3. 3 myepinoy October 20, 2006 at 8:06 am

    Lani: “Eat, drink, and be merry because tomorrow I will die.” that’s the spirit.

    Sidney: If you were able to save that much, do not forget me. I will tell you who Jackie is and I will bring you to her.

    I did enjoy my youth.

  4. 4 Mayito October 21, 2006 at 2:35 am

    It’s great to mate old friend after long time, some time you need to remeber past days special with whom you have had a great copmany.
    Anyone work with you he will never forget you….easy

    Hasta Pronto Amigo

  5. 5 Major Tom October 21, 2006 at 7:24 am

    I never thought Socrates had nice economic advises. Pero like Lani said, it is really hard to do, and how do we really know what are means exactly and what level of expenses that is a scale below that. It must have to be a lot of calculation and mathematical equation.

  6. 6 myepinoy October 21, 2006 at 5:50 pm

    Mayito: Eid Mubarak! That is really true. There are times that you remember your past.

    Major Tom : It is really hard if you only ask “How do you save” however, if you decide to do it by allocating the actual money to save “how much do you want to save” then it would be a lot easier because you already on the act of of it.

    I guess what Socrates means is to tighten our belt more and live within our means.

  7. 7 ipanema October 22, 2006 at 7:49 am

    I splurge a bit if there’s anything extra or if there’s anything worth buying or investing. Otherwise, tiis. 🙂

  8. 8 myepinoy October 23, 2006 at 7:44 am

    Ipanema: You are practical with regards to money. And you are a true-blooded, prudent Pinoy because you know the word “tiis”.

    Thank you.

  9. 9 Patrice November 1, 2006 at 11:00 pm

    if you adhere to this saying of Socrates, does this mean milyonaryo ka na? Hehe. Ambon naman!😛 Hehe. Seriously, how much you want to save is the proper question. Having a target or a goal is always helpful than just deciding if you want to put money away for saving or not.

  10. 10 myepinoy November 14, 2006 at 4:35 pm

    Patrice : Yes you are right. And that is my point. How much you want to save is putting the question how do save into action with commitment to save.

    Galing mo friend.


Leave a Reply

Tweets

Categories


