A borrowed thoughts

I have been writing so many useless things here. I have forgotten that there are better things other than what my little brain could think of and blog about. I guess I have been stretching my small brain too much to come up with something sensible. So, just to have a little break and to conserve my resources (my little brain of course, which by the way is too busy coming up with strategy on how to make money on Saudi Stock Market), I borrowed other people’s meaningful thoughts.

From my son Jeremiah.

KINGDOM OF DREAMS
A heart that loves, sees nothing but to face turbulence.
A passion so intense it sees no barricade.
And with our minds we form a heaven,
The Kingdom of Dreams.
A Kingdom of deception and fallacies,
in which lies are the truth.
Our eyes only see vision of perfection,
of which we try to protect our kingdom.
A Kingdom of altered thoughts and perception,
in which reality is beyond grasp.
So wake up and emancipate yourself from this so called Kingdom of Dreams.
For what lies ahead is a world where in you could breathe in LIFE NOT DREAMS.
Open your eyes and see what poisonous fallacies this tailored heaven has given you.

HEADING TO SOMEWHERE
Moving is a state I strive to be in
In a sense I try not be left behind.
But as I try harder I find myself slipping.
I wonder, if my choices are right.
They say never doubt, never ever
But we live in a space where all we do is doubt.
Doubt possibilities, destiny, faith, ourselves.
Is this the way to lead a life of endless ends.
I move, to where I feel my heart leads me.
I’m heading to somewhere
Somewhere good
for my heart says so.

From Vincas Mykolaitis-Putinas, poet, novelist, dramatist, translator, and literary historian from Lithuania. This one goes to all Filipinos.

THE LIGHTS ARE OUT
The lights are out, our revels ended,
The storm tore down the garlands rare.
Our song’s unsung, our glass unemptied,
The lights went out when life was fair.

The lights went out, again our glances
Are fearful, sad.
Silent we’ve grown.
For who will pray if there’s no answer?
The lights are out – we’re on our own.

The lights are out – we’re both concealing
The dreams we deeply care about.
Mid visions fair and tender feelings
The lights went out, the lights went out.
Translated by Peter Tempest
Source: Lithuanian Poetry in English translations

Tags: , , , , ,

5 Responses to “A borrowed thoughts”


  1. 1 rhodora March 5, 2007 at 7:25 am

    Belated Happy Birthday, Myepinoy! I wish you happiness, good health, good fortune and long life!

    Nice poems here!🙂

  2. 2 verns March 6, 2007 at 7:16 am

    wow your son is very talented Myepinoy. That was a very good poem🙂 Very deep and meaningful.

  3. 3 bw March 7, 2007 at 4:47 am

    very nice poem from your son..very powerful words.. wondering…were you in the desert sipping tea when you were meditating 🙂

  4. 4 Major Tom March 7, 2007 at 6:19 am

    Your son is a very good poet, and very young at that. For me, these couple of works are just excellent that I hope it get published in some major magazines.


  1. 1 Borrowed Thoughts for Lunes Santo « myepinOy’s bLOG Trackback on April 3, 2007 at 11:03 am

Leave a Reply

Tweets

Categories


