A borrowed thought for Myerkules Santo

Suicide Not Thyself
By Iwel, November 12,2006

I loved my life. That is, even before almost dying with two taxi rides whose drivers are willing to crash. I like the front seat, but not when we are to pass under a truck perpendicularly, or hit a car because the red light wasn’t seen and the brakes were applied a tad bit too late. I know that somehow you do too. But in case you decide to go meet with the embalmer, please don’t take me riding in your cab. I’d love it if you didn’t but I’d love it more if I am not anywhere near you when the idea bangs your head. I love my life. Very much so, thank you!

“life oh life” – desree

* * *
I say:

This story of my son reminds us all that life is short. Life is not ours to keep forever. It is only given to us on borrowed time. The One Being who gave it may at any moment, takes it back as He wishes whether we like it or not. With certainty, nobody can stop Him. Everyone will have to go, ready or not, once that borrowed time comes to an end.

I know your time is precious, so, I will just leave you this simple question that I saw written at the back of a car (plate number PXE 880 named THE FULLNESS OF LIFE).

HOW IS YOUR my DRIVING?

Think about it.

Tags: ,

17 Responses to “A borrowed thought for Myerkules Santo”


  1. 1 anoba April 4, 2007 at 11:26 pm

    myepinoy, your son writes well. How I am driving my life? Honestly, I do not know. I am a typical human being who wakes up in the morning, work and sleep at night.

    Basically, I breathe to live so to speak. You know what I mean.

    BTW, just a little question. How come you are not providing the link here to your son’s blog post?

  2. 2 bw April 5, 2007 at 5:12 am

    So you think the driver is trying to make an appointment with the embalmer LOL ! In that case you better ride at the back seat and strap yourself tight with the seat belt man🙂 Always give the dirver a hot cup of coffee when you get in his cab.. maybe he’ll slow down a bit🙂

  3. 3 sexy mom April 5, 2007 at 7:11 am

    your son has a way with words…where’s the link?

    happy easter!

  4. 4 rhodora April 5, 2007 at 7:41 am

    There was a time, during my youth, when I drove carelessly. But now, I drive with much caution (i refer to driving my life, of course.. haha! I can’t even start a car!) … Have a blessed week, Myepinoy!🙂

  5. 5 bingskee April 5, 2007 at 9:03 am

    funny that Papsie knows the danger of driving recklessly.. he forgets most of the time.

    how am i driving my life? i am driving it according to rules – trying hard to be worthy or righteous ( though i know it is a difficult path, but God knows how i am trying).

  6. 6 myepinoy April 5, 2007 at 4:29 pm

    Anoba: Who is not? Tell me.

    The link to my son’s blog, it is on my sidebar. I did not put a direct link because I have not asked his permission before posting this here. Baka pagalitan ako ng anak ko. ha ha ha

    Bro salamat.

  7. 7 myepinoy April 5, 2007 at 4:31 pm

    Bw: I will tell my son about your suggestion. Tama, coffee para hindi inaantok.

  8. 8 myepinoy April 5, 2007 at 4:32 pm

    sexy mom: Thank you. Happy Easter too.

  9. 9 myepinoy April 5, 2007 at 4:34 pm

    rhodora: Welcome back. Oh those were the days ha…

    BTW, how was you review? Nag review ka ba talaga o nagtake ka ng bar exam?

  10. 10 myepinoy April 5, 2007 at 4:40 pm

    bingskee: Papsie must be a very exciting person ha. That probably is the reason (aside from love) why you stil shares everything.

    I noticed that nowadays, it is easier to be something else than to be worthy and righteous. ha ha.

  11. 11 Sonnie April 6, 2007 at 5:27 pm

    hi,

    your title is caught my attention… allow me please to give my two cents.

    am trying to drive according to his plans and purpose– but sometimes, I over speed and also at times, park. I have asked Him several times to take the drivers seat, but His intentions for me is to yield because I want to, not because “or else!”. He desires relationship, otherwise, he could have created robots.

  12. 12 annamanila April 7, 2007 at 7:35 pm

    Ang hirap ng tanong ni mr. myepinoy. In the first place, I don’t drive, i just drive my children mad. Sometimes only. So that’s one: I feel I should be as considerate to my children as I am with my friends. If I can be patient with kapitbahays for example who mess up the common road and keep me from sleep with videoke singing, I should be as tolerant with my children who clutter their rooms and make me stay awake when they go home late from making ligaw.

    Seriously … I think I am still trying to be the best mom, wife, worker, friend, sister, kapitbahay I can be. I don’t see the light at end of the tunnel … maybe I don’t try hard enough. Blame it on my blogging and related huffing-puffing. hahaha

  13. 13 myepinoy April 7, 2007 at 8:42 pm

    Sonnie : Yes sir. I do that too, most of the time I guess. Thank you for the visit.

  14. 14 myepinoy April 7, 2007 at 8:54 pm

    Annamanila: So blogging has something to do with it; why you do not try harder.

    Or perhaps, they are disturbing your blogging and related huffing-puffing.

  15. 15 Mayito May 21, 2007 at 10:43 pm

    Hola amigo,
    I was think my drive is not really bad until I arrive to Mexico City, now I feel I´m Michael Schumacher.

    Big greeting from Mexico city
    Adios

    Mayito

  16. 16 review the diet solution April 10, 2013 at 7:08 am

    Hey I know this is off topic but I was wondering if you knew of any widgets
    I could add to my blog that automatically tweet my newest twitter updates.
    I’ve been looking for a plug-in like this for quite some time and was hoping maybe you would have some experience with something like this. Please let me know if you run into anything. I truly enjoy reading your blog and I look forward to your new updates.

  17. 17 Warner August 9, 2013 at 3:00 pm

    Pretty! This has been a really wonderful post. Many thanks for providing this
    info.


Leave a Reply

Tweets

Categories


