Thought for Huwebes Santo – Passion of Mother

Happy mother’s day mama!!!
by Maya, May 14, 2006

I woke up late as always, still bothered by the dilemmas I am faced with. I turned on the television and was suddenly reminded that this day, was a very special day for all mothers. I never once appreciated the joy’s she has imparted in my somewhat turbulent life. That every time she’s around she gave me a moment of stability and calm, through her eyes I see an endless love for her family and a passion so deep it explodes inside her unwavering spirit. 19 years had passed since the day she gave me life. There are times I cant stand her, there are times i cant do with out her, there are times i just don’t care for her. But still she stay to see me through every decision, mistakes and triumphs I’ve tumbled across this path I’ve chosen.

To a very special (meaning; crazy, funny, strict, moody, overly hygienic, caring, loving, lovely, intelligent, strong) woman who’s inner light never withered. I LOVE YOU!!!

HAPPY MOTHER”S DAY MAMA!!!!!! GO GIRL!!!!! MUAH!!!!

***

Many of you might wonder why I posted the mother’s day message of my son today, Maundy Thursday.

I too wondered about this idea at first but somehow something inspired me. Alam mo yon basta lang there really was something but you have no clear idea what that something really was. (ang gulo ko no?)

Frankly speaking, I am not into some kind of  meditation (contemplation or whatever state as you may call it) like most people of faith do during holy week. The simple reason is that I am busy living (other term: working).  I need to.  I have to  because  in this part of the world,  this day is not special, just another normal working day. In case some of you do not know yet, I am in a country that has different religion not tolerant enough to allow me to practice my faith. You know what I saying here, right?.

And besides, it was time immemorial that my religious life has changed (save my kind of spirituality) and as I grew old (and older, lol), I have  forgotten a lot of things that my priest-teachers taught me about religion except for that Liberation Theology idea that they successfully embedded in my brain cells; the reason why I do not like most politicians. Ha ha ha, I must congratulate myself. I successfully written here do not like instead of do hate them. Holy week di ba?

Going back, I think this is the most fitting day to pay tribute to our mothers. If (indeed) on this day Christ was arrested, then this must be the day the Passion of the Mother started.

Can you imagine the anguish, the pain and suffering of a mother seeing her child going through the ordeal of being accused, humiliated, arrested and tried like a criminal and then crucified. How could this happen to a child that she lovingly brought to this world and cared for every seconds of the day from her waking hours to her sleeping time. It surely pained her to the bones. into her soul. A shattering experience that an ordinary normal would not be able to endure.

And to think, this day is just the beginning of her child’s suffering.

Without having to sound stupid or crazy about something that in a way different from the view of many people who are celebrating observing this occasion, I would just leave this all to you to think, to contemplate or whatever.

So, for everything that my mother went through while raising me, and for my wife who went through a lot raising me as well together with my kids, I would like to say I Love you Moms. Thank you very much.

To all the mother bloggers who I met in the net, melai, neng, bingskee, rhodora, annamanila, niceheart, sexy mom and all the mothers of this world, Thank you so much for loving and raising your children well.

For the kids, I guess this is one the best days to honor your mother. Give them a loving hug, a kiss and a whisper “I love you mom and thank you so much.”

A word of caution though, do not ask for a treat at your favorite coffee store, a trip to the mall for a shopping spree and an additional allowance. The pissibility of not being able to do all that is zero – sarado kasi mga establishments at this time. Ha ha ha.

12 Responses to “Thought for Huwebes Santo – Passion of Mother”


  1. 1 sexy mom April 5, 2007 at 7:48 pm

    indeed, Maya’s mother’s day letter is apt, as a Holy Thursday reflection. makes us moms more aware of the responsibility that God has given to us, mothers. it’s also heart warming to know that we moms are appreciated. Happy Easter!

    me : Mom must always be appreciated. Without mothers, paano kaya ang mundo at paano kaya magkakakatao. Unless, kaming mga lalaki na rin ang mangaganak. ha ha ha.

    Happy Easter too.

  2. 2 melai April 5, 2007 at 11:11 pm

    naks! ganitong ganito ang tema ng comment ko kanina kay tita sexy mom ha🙂 nag-usap ba tayo? lol!

    me: Ganon ba? Happy Easter.

  3. 3 eric aka senor enrique April 6, 2007 at 5:40 am

    What a unique perspective; a heart-warming tribute, indeed, Rolly.

    Happy Easter!

    me: Thank you Eric. Happy Easter too.

  4. 4 annamanila April 7, 2007 at 7:39 pm

    Thank you for thinking of us super and nagsusuper-superan moms this Lent season. I don’t want to be Pieta though. I want my children to leapfrog life’s hardships and woes, kung pwede lang. But I guess they really have to experience life ha. Otherwise …..

    Tama si Senor, you have given Lent a unique perspective. Only from myepinoy!

    me: Great moms always think like you do.

    Happy Easter.

  5. 5 Schumey April 7, 2007 at 10:49 pm

    Happy Easter!

    Me: Happy Easter.

  6. 6 bw April 8, 2007 at 1:13 am

    Great tribute to the moms of this world🙂 Happy Easter to you bro.

    Me: Bro thank you. Happy Easter too.

  7. 7 verns April 8, 2007 at 5:04 am

    ahhhhh…i’m moved.

    Happy Easter dude!

    me: Thanks. Happy Easter too.

  8. 8 sexy mom April 8, 2007 at 9:08 am

    pandagdag sa sinabi ni Annamanila

    Each year, during Lent, I can’t help but be humbled—humbled many times over in the thought that no matter how good a mother I try to be, no matter how much sacrifices I make, no matter how much time and love I give my kids, what I do as a mother is still not enough. There is so much to improve on, to change, to learn and to perfect. And there is one mother who has given so much, a mother who has suffered so much, a mother who has loved so much, a mother so perfect—Mama Mary. Her pains, seeing how much her son has suffered through His passion to His death are recalled during Lent. No one can match the motherly love she has in her heart.

    me: Amen to that. As I said, someday, we will a have a better world because great mothers exist. And you are one of them.

    Honestly, your comment touched me. Here is a good mother who already did great and still think she has not done enough. Oh mothers, iba talaga kayo.

    Thank you for the e-card.

    Again. Happy Easter.

  9. 9 sasha April 8, 2007 at 9:40 am

    I truly love reading posts of blogger moms like you… namiss ko na naman tuloy ang mom ko. She passed away in Sep 2005. She raised us to be good people.

    Happy Easter!🙂

    me: I’m sorry to hear that. Do not worry, I believe she is happy wherever she is. She accomplished every mother’s dream. Raise a good people like you. Happy Easter too.

  10. 10 niceheart April 9, 2007 at 12:43 am

    Happy Easter, myepinoy. Thank you for thinking about us moms as you reflect on this Holy Week. Even now that I am a mother, I could only imagine how Mother Mary felt during those times when Christ was being condemned and later on, crucified.

    me: Happy Easter too Niceheart.

  11. 11 annamanila April 9, 2007 at 11:53 am

    Hey Rolly without the Polly — tagged you. And you got to visit my site to see what’ it’s about. Sorry if busy ka .. di naman nagmamadali. I also took time to comply. All best.

    me: I will.

  12. 12 bingskee April 9, 2007 at 7:38 pm

    maraming, maraming salamat.😀 i am glad that my children realizes what i am doing for them. they are responsible kids, and are full of hope and ambition. i am just scared that being the realists that they are, they will soon be disappointed or frustrated with the way things are going in this world. but i pray to God, that He will guide them and still be responsible individuals in the midst of everything that can cause frustration.

    me: You are not alone Bing. With your prayer and guidance, I believe everything will turn out okay.

    This is for you.

    On Children by Kahlil Gibran
    And a woman who held a babe against her bosom said, “Speak to us of Children.”
    And he said:
    Your children are not your children.
    They are the sons and daughters of Life’s longing for itself.
    They come through you but not from you,
    And though they are with you, yet they belong not to you.
    You may give them your love but not your thoughts.
    For they have their own thoughts.
    You may house their bodies but not their souls,
    For their souls dwell in the house of tomorrow, which you cannot visit, not even in your dreams.
    You may strive to be like them, but seek not to make them like you.
    For life goes not backward nor tarries with yesterday.
    You are the bows from which your children as living arrows are sent forth.
    The archer sees the mark upon the path of the infinite, and He bends you with His might that His arrows may go swift and far.
    Let your bending in the archer’s hand be for gladness;
    For even as He loves the arrow that flies, so He loves also the bow that is stable.
    Let your bending in the archer’s hand be for gladness;
    For even as He loves the arrow that flies, so He loves also the bow that is stable.


Leave a Reply

Tweets

Categories


