Ninoy’s letter to Noynoy

According to Ellen Tordesilla‘s post titled Noynoy Aquino shares letter of dad, Noynoy is asking bloggers to disseminate the letter which he said is ‘one of the compelling reasons why I am in the race.

For Noynoy’s sake, I am quoting part of the letter (page two, second paragraph). Click Here.

“The only valuable asset I can bequeath to you now is the name you carry. I have tried my best during my years of public service to keep that name untarnished and respected, unmarked by sorry compromise for expediency. I now passed it on to you, as good, I pray, as when my father, your grandfather passed it on to me.” Ninoy Aquino Click here.

SignI will not add my crazy thoughts on this because Ninoy’s words are very clear. Being the case, it is therefore very appropriate to add the words of great men with equal status as Ninoy to make the obvious more obvious.

Associate yourself with men of good quality if you esteem your own reputation. It is better be alone than in bad company. – George Washington

No one should form an acquaintance with one who has an evil character. A piece of coal, if it is hot burns, and if it’s cold, blackens the hands. Hitopadesa

Every man is like the company he is wont to keep. – Euripides.

The dictionary defined expediency as “Adherence to self-serving means: an ambitious politician, guided by expediency rather than principle.” Dabog

I will end this post here. I just hope that the Filipino voters will be wise enough to distinguish the real from the fake in a gallery full of ever-smiling, sheep-like, too good to be true candidates.

Related posts:

Tags: ,

18 Responses to “Ninoy’s letter to Noynoy”


  1. 1 eric aka senor enrique April 10, 2007 at 6:12 am

    I also pray that most Filipinos will exercise the power of their votes by electing into office those worthy of such positions.

  2. 2 myepinoy April 10, 2007 at 6:06 pm

    eric: May God help us. Thank you.

  3. 3 melai April 10, 2007 at 9:45 pm

    pwede ko bang lagyan ng Amen sa ending? kung hindi mag-iisip ang taong boboto, parang kapani-paniwala nga yung binabasa………..

  4. 4 myepinoy April 10, 2007 at 10:03 pm

    melai: o ito na. Amen.

    Ang politics at poliicians talaga showbiz na showbiz ang dating. kaka….. opps bawal sabihin. he he he.

  5. 5 Schumey April 11, 2007 at 2:42 am

    Nice one. But I am one of those who would like to make a political statement and would vote for the opposition. Only just this once will I turn a blind eye on those I do not like in the slate.

    me: I appreciate your honesty. I may not agree with your idea of political statement but I respect your position and understand your decision.

    Many Filipinos (including you and me) once did this before against the dictator.

  6. 6 rhodora April 11, 2007 at 5:05 am

    Pardon me, Myepinoy, but I would like to react to Schumey’s comment.

    I beg to disagree, Schumey. I don’t think turning a blind eye on those you don’t like in the opposition slate makes a purposeful political statement. I believe that, to vote just to show defiance is not at all a healthy way to exercise one’s right. It won’t be of any help to our very sick government either. Just my opinion…hope you give it a thought… .. Peace! 🙂

    Thanks, Myepinoy…🙂

    me: Well said.

  7. 7 melai April 11, 2007 at 7:05 am

    I agree kay rhodora
    not because they are the Opposition doesn’t mean that they can save the sinking boat….
    sorry tatay schumey.

    me: The shameless candidates from both sides (so-called opposition an admin.) could help save the sinking boat by jumping out in the open seas and stay there till the election is over or till the sharks eat them.

  8. 8 Shari April 11, 2007 at 11:38 am

    Only true.🙂

    I’d rather vote for who (I think) is the right one, than vote for someone just because of his/her political party. Teehee.

    me: It should be. It must be.

  9. 9 sexy mom April 11, 2007 at 12:59 pm

    the letter was typewritten–if only ninoy could blog, his words could have reached far and wide. bless his soul!

    me: Probably. I am not sure now. Filipinos today are different from the Pinoys of yesteryears.

  10. 10 annamanila April 11, 2007 at 8:04 pm

    And that is the compelling reason for Noynoy to join the senatorial race? Medyo may butas ang reasoning ano?

    Anyway, I think I will still participate in this coming election (no matter that I will do it halfheartedly since I have to rouse myself from a numb state in order to go out and vote). I only have one shoo-in in my senatorial slate. Si Joker. You will never associate him with “expediency.”

    Someone has asked me to campaign for Agham sa partly list .. haha. Development trhough technological development ang battlecry nila. Si Emil Javier, former UP President, ang frontliner.

    TY.

    me: Will you go out and vote happily for me? ha ha ha.

    Approve na ba ng Comelec ang Agham partylist? Wag mo rin kalimutan, Kabataan Party ha. Salamat.

  11. 11 bw April 12, 2007 at 5:11 am

    Dunno MyePinoy but I look at things a little differently bro. I’d like to think I would vote for Noynoy because he is capable and not because he is Ninoy Aquino’s son. Not trying to be killjoy here but there has to be a fair assessment of the person of what he is capable I think. Again, this is a very subjective opinion.

    My other comment is – perhaps Pinas should move away from popular voting to a party system type like what other countries do. I think we focus tooo much on the person rather than the party platform. We all know that ONE person cannot do much if his party doesn’t go with the idea therefore the political party agenda/platform I believe should be THE issue in an election. As it is today, Pinoys cannot differentiate the political parties from their election platforms!

    Yung lang bro – my 2 cents🙂

    me: Fair assessment of what the candidate can do is one of many considerations that Filipino voters must do before voting.

    It is really true that there are segments of our society that cannot differentiate political parties from the election platforms because we only have fly by night political party.

  12. 12 JT April 12, 2007 at 11:19 pm

    “I now passed it on to you, as good, I pray, as when my father, your grandfather passed it on to me.” Ninoy

    Wasn’t Ninoy’s father a Japanese collaborator during WW II?

    me: Mr. Hohn T., I am not sure about the collaborator issue so I can not say much about it.

  13. 13 JohnT April 13, 2007 at 4:10 am

    Why was my blog about Ninoy’s father, being a Japanese collaborator, deleted? Truth hurts, right. A lot of people suffered because of Ninoy’s father.

    me: As I have said, I am not sure about the collaborator issue. Thank you for your comment.

  14. 14 Lani April 13, 2007 at 4:25 am

    Parang comedy naman itong pulitika sa kawawang bayan natin, sana lang maging fair na lahat kasi kahit na iboto natin iyong alam nating may magagawa sa bayan tapos dadayain din pala, wala ring kwenta. Medyo sana numipis ang muka ng ilang nasa gobyerno, wish ko lang.

    me: Wish ko rin.

  15. 15 annamanila April 14, 2007 at 6:04 pm

    Ilan ba ang pwedeng iboto sa partylist. If at least 2, okidoki yung Kabataan.

    Pwede ba proxy voting? but i thought u were coming home before elections? did i just imagine that or you told me or someone else did.

  16. 16 myepinoy April 14, 2007 at 6:14 pm

    No idea about that too. sorry.

    I was the one ho told you I guess. my vacation depends on two IFs – If my colleague comes back on time and if my booking gets confirmed.

    Nandyan na sana ako noong 12 Apr pa pero na adjust kasi nag emegercy yong kasama ko.

  17. 17 annamanila April 14, 2007 at 7:05 pm

    Sorry for that — sorry for your family too. 😦

  18. 18 melai April 21, 2007 at 5:39 pm

    ganun?? di delay pala yung pasalubong ko? lol!!


Comments are currently closed.



Tweets

Categories


