Music, Music, Music

Here you go — Annamanilafew of the million songs that I love to listen to.

Walang Hanggang PaalamJoey Ayala
Ang pagibig natin ay
walang hanggang paalam
at habang magkalayo
papalapit pa rin ang puso
kahit na magkahiwalay
tayo ay magkasama
sa magkabilang dulo ng mundo.

BahayGary Granada
Sa init ng tabla’t karton sila doo’y nakakulong
Sa lilim ng yerong kalawang at mga sirang gulong
Pinagtagpi-tagping basurang pinatungan ng bato
Hindi ko maintindihan bakit ang tawag sa ganito
Ay bahay.

The Prayer (Featuring Charlotte Church) – Josh Groban
I pray you’ll be our eyes, And watch us where we go
Josh GrobanAnd help us to be wise, In times when we don’t know, Let this be our prayer, As we go our way
Lead us to a place
Guide us with your Grace
To a place where we’ll be safe

Drive – Incubus
Sometimes, I feel the fear of, uncertainty stinging clear. IncubusAnd I can’t help but ask myself how much I’ll let the fear take the wheel and steer. It’s driven me before, and it seems to a faint, haunting mass appeal. But lately I, am beginning to find that I, should be the one behind the wheel. Whatever tomorrow brings, I’ll be there, with open arms and open eyes, yeah. Whatever tomorrow brings, I’ll be there, I’ll be there….

Collide – Howie Day
Howie DayI’m open, you’re closed, Where I follow, you’ll go, I worry I won’t see your face, Light up again. Even the best fall down sometimes, Even the wrong words seem to rhyme. Out of the doubt that fills my mind, I somehow find, You and I collide.

Here Without You – Three Doors Down
Three Doors DownA hundred days had made me older since the last time that I saw your pretty face. A thousand lights had made me colder and I don’t think I can look at this the same. But all the miles that separate, They disappeared now when I’m dreaming of your face.

Hear You Me – Jimmy Eat World
Jimmy Eat WorldWhat would you think of me now
so lucky, so strong, so proud?
I never said thank you for that
I’ll never have a chance.

Boston – Augustana
AugustanaIn the light of the sun, is there anyone?
Oh it has begun…
You don’t know me, you don’t even care, she said
You don’t know me, you don’t wear my chains…

Fake Plastic Trees – RadioHead
Radiohead A green plastic watering can, for a fake Chinese rubber plant, in the fake plastic earth, that she bought from a rubber man, in a town full of rubber plans, to get rid of itself. It wears her out, it wears her out. It wears her out, it wears her out. She lives with a broken man. A cracked polystyrene man, Who just crumbles and burns. . . .

You First Believed – HokuHoku
There were times when I thought I’d lost you, Fearing forever was a dream. But it wasn’t what it seemed, Placing your hand in mine,You could see in the dark,You were guiding my heart. It was you, who first believed, In all that I was made to be.

You may find some of these songs here and here and here.

15 Responses to “Music, Music, Music”


  1. 1 annamanila April 14, 2007 at 6:01 pm

    Am I just imagiining it — or are your fave songs reeking of homesick blues.

    Intriguing ang lyrics ng fake plastic trees. Reminds me of The Hollowmen by T. S. Eliot. Hope I can really listen to the song one day.

    Even the best fall down sometime, even the wrong words seem to rhyme — wow ! galing

    Thanks for playing.

  2. 2 myepinoy April 14, 2007 at 6:24 pm

    Annamanila: Does my homesickness show?

    My music depends on my mood most of the time. Pag uwi ko, puro classical piano pieces courtesy of my musikerong anak na walang pahinga ang praktis hangga sa madaling araw.

    I was joking my onli daughter the other day. Ang sabi ko “mukhang okay ang effect ng music ni Kuya sa yo kasi ang tataas ng grades mo at na exempt ka pa sa finals exam ng tatlong subjects.” Sagot sa akin, nabatak daw yong mga ugat ng utak nya dahil sa matataas na (nota) tunog ng piano ng kuya nya. ha ha ha.

  3. 3 melai April 14, 2007 at 7:27 pm

    uyyy lima ang gusto ko dyan at apat ang nasa player ko🙂

  4. 4 Designate April 14, 2007 at 8:35 pm

    Ah, I don’t think any list can be a bad one with Hear You Me, that’s such a fantastic song.

  5. 5 sexy mom April 15, 2007 at 6:43 am

    omg, i am lost, i only know one of your songs, yung kay josh groban…am i very low in music literacy?

  6. 6 Ferdz April 15, 2007 at 2:16 pm

    I also love listening to Collide, Drive, Here you me, Boston and fake plastic trees. Keep the music coming!

  7. 7 Major Tom April 16, 2007 at 9:31 am

    Walang Hanngang paalam by Joey Ayala is my fave for all time kaya lang I find it hard to find a copy, even online. The music stores here have no copy of it anymore. But it is so good.

  8. 8 verns April 16, 2007 at 11:00 am

    Among your list bro… I love The Prayer and COllide🙂

  9. 9 rhodora April 17, 2007 at 5:27 am

    Wala dito ang favorite ko – Pink Floyd. I have a Pink Floyd fixation. I love their ‘Us and Them’ number, also ‘Wish You Were Here’.

    Sa mga young artists, gusto kong pakinggan si Bamboo. I love that guy. He is so talented, and so profound in his lyrics.

    I also like the revival version of Apo Hiking Society’s ‘Nakapagtataka’ by Sponge Cola.

    I also like songs that my daughter like… mostly girlie – like Reflection from Mulan, and other Walt Disney inspired songs.

    I also like Bob Marley, Sarah MacLachlan.. Save Ferries, South Border, Imago, Side A Band, Sugar Free band.. ay lahat, gusto ko, basta hindi tunog lata.

    But lately I have been listening to Andrea Bocelli’s The Prayer and Mulan’s Reflection, for personal reasons…😦

    Ayan, I’ve sort of done the meme too, with my long comment… hehe.

  10. 10 rhodora April 17, 2007 at 5:31 am

    P.S.
    Alam mo, Myepinoy, si Gary Granada, schoolmate ko noon sa UP Baguio. Noon pa man, magaling na siyang mag compose. Galing niya talaga. Isang composition nyang tandang tanda ko noong college kami ay ‘Sem Break’. So I wasn’t surprised when one day I heard he won in the Pop Music Festival.

  11. 11 Patrice April 21, 2007 at 5:25 am

    kamusta na? hmm, nakakasenti naman dito. varied pala ang taste mo sa music. ako rin…

  12. 12 bingskee April 21, 2007 at 9:39 am

    am into bossa nova these days…

  13. 13 Jayred April 25, 2007 at 4:03 pm

    Josh Groban’s CD is great. I have one given to me by my friend.

    Hindi ka ba maka-Lea Salonga? Hehe.

  14. 14 mimi June 1, 2007 at 6:14 pm

    blog hopping! Ü

    nakakarelate ako sa songs mo.. the prayer.. at hear you me.. mga faves ko rin.. Ü


Leave a Reply

Tweets

Categories


