My so-called life

On my way to Dubai, I met an old american friend. We had a short conversation. At the end of our pleasant talk, he asked me a question.

“How’s your life?”

“How much time do you have?” I replied.

“Oh come on! Is that an answer or what?

I did not talk any further instead I took out a piece of paper from my bag and wrote these: “? ! . + – / * “=(&

I handed the paper to him.

He blurted “WTF are these?”

I told him “Tell me, how much time do you have?”

“You haven’t change! I got to go now. One day I’ll see you again somewhere in the world and I will tell you how much time do I have to listen to your fu****g life. See you buddy.”

He walked fast and and as he disappeared from my sight, I asked myself, “How’s your life myepinoy?” I know you know exactly what my answer is.

To end this, I would like to ask you the same question, How’s your life?

Can you tell me your life in few words and in few minutes? My wild guess is YOU CAN’T!

23 Responses to “My so-called life”


  1. 1 SexyMom May 24, 2007 at 1:40 pm

    your vacation is over now! must have been fun, fun, fun! it’s now raining, you brought along with you the hot summer days.

    as to my so called life life, my telling another person about it will depend on how i trust the person, on how much the other person is willing to listen, and on my mood at that exact moment. also, on the sincerity of the person asking, is the person asking the question just asked in passing? or is the person sincere?

  2. 2 myepinoy May 24, 2007 at 2:13 pm

    Yes, I am back to reality. Just to brag a little, my officemates (except the Pinoys) envy me to the max because I have a nice tan, according to them. ha ha ha. If they only know that I have gone to beach only twice and the tanned skin I have was a result of moving back and forth from QC, Manila and Cavite on public transport. I have given up the thought of driving after I drove my son to his place in Katipunan.

    Telling your life story depends on many things as you have mentioned above but wouldn’t you agree that anybody’s life story is more than just few sentences or words spoken in short length of time? If indeed it is, that would have been boring. Just kidding (ha ha ha) because the truth is, no one can tell.

    Happy weekend and thank you.

  3. 3 bw May 24, 2007 at 7:25 pm

    Sounds like a complex question to be asked..hehe.. A simple
    ” how’s things” ? would get a likely answer – “not bad”🙂 I guess he just wanted to ask ” how are you?” but said it in a more complex manner🙂

  4. 4 myepinoy May 25, 2007 at 2:18 pm

    @bw: Medyo kinulit ko lang sya kasi kung hindi, we weill end up with a shot then a shot and then a lot of shots. In those shots I always end up listening to his life story.

    It is not that his life story is boring but I do not want both of us taking our planes charged (with alcohol). he he

  5. 5 auee May 25, 2007 at 4:47 pm

    hi, thanks for dropping by my site.
    My life in a few words? I always just go for “fine, you?” hehe
    I’m used to this brand of small talk now but it used to bother me so much in first year in the UK. I don’t understand why they can’t just say “hi”.

    Anyway, have a nice weekend.

  6. 6 JO May 26, 2007 at 5:31 am

    My answer is: my life is a roller coaster, it has its ups and down.

  7. 7 Sidney May 27, 2007 at 5:32 am

    Happy ! :-)))))

    It just can’t be better!

  8. 8 melai May 27, 2007 at 11:04 am

    my life?…ganun pa rin🙂

  9. 9 eric aka senor enrique May 27, 2007 at 3:36 pm

    Good, I’d answer him🙂

    Should he demand that I expound on it, I’d just write down the URL of my blog … hahaha!

    Glad you had a wonderful and safe balikbayan vacation, Rolly!

  10. 10 Schumey May 28, 2007 at 1:29 am

    My life? Its simple and I’m content with whatever is given to me. It only becomes complicated when I look around me and see people live in poverty. I suppose that’s what I get for loving my neighbors too much.

  11. 11 verns May 28, 2007 at 10:52 am

    how’s my life? same old same old hehe

  12. 12 rhodora May 28, 2007 at 12:50 pm

    Myepinoy, I guess Eric has got the smartest answer here!

    A friend asks: How’s your life? Give him the URL of your blog! Hahaha!

  13. 13 Major Tom May 28, 2007 at 1:13 pm

    Yeah, that seems to be an innocous question to ask. I can’t vreally say my ligfe is good or bad…it is so much in between, and vacillating towards good, the bad at the other…then so on and so forth.

  14. 14 Ferdz May 28, 2007 at 4:43 pm

    You know what, whenever I see my friends I always ask them the question “How’s life?” instead of a simple “Hello” and I always get either a laughter with an accompanying “Ano bang klaseng tanong yan?” sometimes with an accompanying slap on my arms as well. Hehe.

  15. 15 annamanila May 29, 2007 at 11:07 am

    Tell me Rolly, how’s your life? (And I got time to read your answer no matter how kilometric .. haha)

    Then I will answer you.

    But it’s true …. that question, even a simple ‘how are you’ — can be a metaphysical issue. lol

  16. 16 badoodles.wordpress.com May 30, 2007 at 6:16 am

    hi, just blog hopping.

    my life is great. life is too short to waste time hating anyone. just going with the flow and enjoying my ride.🙂

  17. 17 bingskee May 30, 2007 at 3:05 pm

    with the hassles and the predicament, it still is great! i thank GOD for life!

  18. 18 chitty May 31, 2007 at 12:25 pm

    People will ask the question, but they don’t really want to know the answer. “Just great” would have sufficed.

  19. 19 myepinoy June 1, 2007 at 11:43 am

    auee: No problem.
    Jo: Must be having a very exciting life.
    Sidney: Glad to hear that.
    melai: Ay ganun.
    Eric: Why I did not think of thank? Thank you.
    Schumey: That is really true. I know how you feel.
    verns: ha ha ha. So what is that same old same old life yours?
    rhodora: Absolutely yes.
    Major Tom: And I supposed one of the good things is we can blog. ha ha ha.
    Ferdz: The reason for that I guess is a bad timing.
    annamanila: Thank you so much. One day, I’ll visit you. Hope this serves as my appoinment. ha ha ha.
    badoodles: Absolutely right. It appears to me that you are still young. Have a great ride.
    bingskee: I too say, Thanks God for Life!
    chitty: I agree.

  20. 20 Jayred June 3, 2007 at 11:11 pm

    Well, my expat life here in Switzerland is like the Swiss German language: hard to understand, difficult to learn, and throaty to pronounce. In other words, challenging. Otherwise, I’m okay. Hahaha.

    Another way to put it is this: My Swiss life is like a situation comedy. That’s the shorter version.

    ***

    How about you, Rolly?

  21. 21 myepinoy June 4, 2007 at 11:09 am

    Jayred: My life is like a stock in the stock market. Or like one of my favorite songs from RENT. (you may download here)
    Five hundred twenty-five thousand
    Six hundred minutes,
    Five hundred twenty-five thousand
    Moments so dear.
    Five hundred twenty-five thousand
    Six hundred minutes
    How do you measure, measure a year?

    In daylights, in sunsets, in midnights
    In cups of coffee
    In inches, in miles, in laughter, in strife.

    In five hundred twenty-five thousand
    Six hundred minutes
    How do you measure
    A year in the life?

    How about love?
    How about love?
    How about love? Measure in love

    Seasons of love. Seasons of love

    Five hundred twenty-five thousand
    Six hundred minutes!
    Five hundred twenty-five thousand
    Journeys to plan.

    Five hundred twenty-five thousand
    Six hundred minutes
    How do you measure the life
    Of a woman or a man?

    In truths that she learned,
    Or in times that he cried.
    In bridges he burned,
    Or the way that she died.

    It’s time now to sing out,
    Tho’ the story never ends
    Let’s celebrate
    Remember a year in the life of friends
    Remember the love!
    Remember the love!
    Seasons of love!

    Oh you got to got to Remember the love! remember the love,
    You Measure in love know that love is a gift from up above Seasons of love.
    Share love, give love spread love Measure measure you life in love.

  22. 22 Jayred June 8, 2007 at 9:40 am

    Kaya naman pala kelangan ng time ng American friend mo to listen to your answer to his question.🙂

    myepinoy: ha ha ha.

  23. 23 Mitchteryosa June 17, 2007 at 3:39 pm

    Honga naman… hehehe!


Comments are currently closed.



Tweets

Categories


