About lunch, life and beyond.

Three construction workers were on top of their half-finished skyscraper. Rrrrring!” the lunch bell sounded, and the three men sat on a steel beam jutting out of the 56th floor with their lunch boxes in hand.

The first guy opens his and groans in exasperation, “Tuyo!” There is not a day that I don’t get tuyo for lunch!” He turns to his buddies and announces, “Mark my words. If I still get tuyo tomorrow, I’m going to throw myself from this building.”

The second guy opens his lunch box and moans, “Tinapa”. Everyday, I get tinapa!” He looks at his friends and declares, “Believe me when I say this. If I get tinapa tomorrow, I’m going to jump and kil! l myself.”

The third guy opens his lunch box and it was his turn to despair. “Galunggong” . All I get is galunggong!” I’m telling you, if I still get galunggong tomorrow, I’m going to jump from this building and die.”

At around three in the afternoon while the construction workers are busy with their work, their wives was invited to attend one of the talks of a catholic lay preacher and best selling author in the nearby coliseum.

After the talk, the wives are somewhat sad and a bit worried. They are fearful of the probability that their husbands might end up the same way as the preacher narrated in his story.

And so, they decided to do something.

The next day, the lunch bell rings and all three men are seated on a temporary platform jutting out of the 56th floor. The first guy opens his lunch box and starts yelling, “Yahooooooo!” And so he jumps for joy.

The second guy opens his lunch box and wails loudly, ” Yahooooooo ” And he also jumps happily.

The third guy opens his lunch box and screams, ” Yahooooooo!” And so he too jumps gleefully.

All three men keep on jumping. They are very happy for the simple reason that for the first time they have something different for their lunch and thus no need for them to jump and die.

A minute later, they heard a strange sound. The platform that they were standing on snapped and off the building. They fell on the ground, ….

What then is that story that the catholic lay preacher shared with his audience in that afternoon?  Kyuryos ka?

FLASHBACK:

TUYO, TINAPA AND GALUNGGONG
By: Bo Sanchez

Let me tell you a story. Three construction workers were on top of their half-finished skyscraper. Rrrrring!” the lunch bell sounded, and the three men sat on a steel beam jutting out of the 56th floor with their lunch boxes in hand.

The first guy opens his and groans in exasperation, “Tuyo!” There is not a day that I don’t get tuyo for lunch!” He turns to his buddies and announces, “Mark my words. If I still get tuyo tomorrow, I’m going to throw myself from this building.”

The second guy opens his lunch box and moans, “Tinapa”. Everyday, I get tinapa!” He looks at his friends and declares, “Believe me when I say this. If I get tinapa tomorrow, I’m going to jump and kil! l myself.”

The third guy opens his lunch box and it was his turn to despair. “Galunggong” . All I get is galunggong!” I’m telling you, if I still get galunggong tomorrow, I’m going to jump from this building and die.”

The next day, the lunch bell rings and all three men are again seated on the 56th floor. The first guy opens his lunch box and starts crying, “Tuyoooooo!” And so he jumps and crashes on the ground.

The second guy opens his lunch box and wails loudly, “Tinapaaaa!” And he also hurls himself off the building and dies.

The third guy opens his lunch box and screams, “Galunggonggggg! ” And so he too jumps off the building and splatters on the ground.

Days later, during the funeral of the three men, their three wives embrace and weep together. The first wife cries out, “I didn’t know my husband didn’t like tuyo anymore! Why didn’t he tell me? If only he told me, I would have prepared something else.”

The second wife echoes her statement, “Yes! If only I knew, I would have cooked something else, not tinapa!”

The third wife, between sobs, speaks up, “I don’t know why my husband killed himself.” The two wives look at her curiously.
“Why?”
She went on, “Because … my husband prepares his own lunch everyday…”

I love this crazy story because it presents a very important truth: all of us prepare our own lunch. If we don’t like our jobs, if we don’t like the state of our relationships, if! we don’t like what’s happening to our spiritual lives – we have no one to blame but ourselves. Because God has given us free will. He has given us the power to prepare our own lunch.

If you want to earn more and be free from debt, if you’re sick and tired of your bad habits, if we want to put more joy in our marriages, if we want to grow in our relationship with God – then go back to your kitchen and prepare yourself another dish. Because you design your own future. You create your own destiny. Ask yourself what kind of future do you want to have? What kind of life? What kind of eternity?

You decide.

I altered part of the story (a technique (kuno) that I learned many years back when I was aspiring to be …. never mind. lol) just to emphasize that everyone must, at all times, carry the thing we called (love??, no!) common sense and always practice the safety first policy.

There is also a simple truth that (definitely contradict what I wrote above)  when your time is up, whatever you do wherever you are or whoever you are, nothing or nobody can stop it. Peaceful, tragic; it comes as He wishes.

Life is indeed very short. What are you going to do about it? Is there something else you need to say or do today? What is holding you back?

It is never too late. Please GO and do it NOW.

Related posts:

11 Responses to “About lunch, life and beyond.”


  1. 1 annamanila June 21, 2007 at 12:43 pm

    Wow naman, Myepinoy, that’s a good technique — mala pelikula nga. I think i watched a movie like that … two stories juxtaposed with each other — the first one follows what a woman’s life would have been if she caught her bus going to a destination; the other reveals what would have happened if she didn’t catch it. Ang bida .. sino na nga …. her name is at the tip of my tongue … the one who starred in Shakespeare in love.

    Anyway, who will quarrel with your lesson: “pack your own lunch.” drive your own bike, scratch your own itch … joke. lol

    Galing talaga .. it tells us we are responsible for what we are. We should not blame our spouses, our bosses, government, the economy. Invictus!

    me: Yes, scratch your own itch. If it persists, see a doctor. ha ha ha. I was thinking, if our life is a story that we can go back and edit, then we could make it excellent if not perfect. But, life once written, it is already done. The only thing we can do now is make the most of what is left so we can make up for: something we lost, the right thing we did not do or kind words we failed to say. at the same time strive to realize what we wish to do with our own lives.

    Happy and peaceful weekend..

  2. 2 verns June 22, 2007 at 11:40 am

    Myepinoy thanks for this entry. I sooo love it. It’s enlightening. Bo Sanchez is really good🙂

  3. 3 myepinoy June 22, 2007 at 3:01 pm

    You are most welcome. May you find what you want.

    Happy weekend.

  4. 4 bw June 22, 2007 at 10:54 pm

    This also echoes the wisdom in the saying that God really only helps those who help themselves🙂 It is not impossible to discern that we can’t achieve ANYTHING in life unless we move our butts🙂

  5. 5 Patrice June 23, 2007 at 3:17 am

    Haha..that caught my eye. I received this through email too and wondered why it had a different ending. It is one of the few good emails that I get and is willing to pass around. Otherwise, they are all junk with warning to pass it on or bad luck will befall me.

  6. 6 Major Tom June 23, 2007 at 3:42 pm

    This is the sharpest tragi-comedy that I have read for a long time. Thanks to that technique.

    Now it seems that too much complaining is not only a bad habit; it could also be fatal..

  7. 7 bingskee June 23, 2007 at 4:30 pm

    i had a feeling you altered it! ha ha good one. but isnt wise to do something when you think that you dont like what is happening with your life? no one can be blamed with what will happen or what happened to another’s life.

    there was a man i know who had depended his life on his mother which he didnt treat right when she died. the mother got sick and died. and he was telling everybody, ‘i didnt expect her to die’. so foolish and this is a true story. he has nobody to turn to because everybody does not want him around. he has difficulty getting along with others.

  8. 8 SexyMom June 23, 2007 at 8:47 pm

    tuyo and tinapa, i do not eat, galunggong sometimes.

    if i were to eat these food, day in and day out, i would perhaps lose luster and vigor. which reminds me–the poor have no choice. these food are even luxuries already for them. they are trapped in their present predicaments.

    sorry, myepinOy, i am deviating from the topic, you are not now talking about the poor and the tragedies of life, you are talking about fate and choices.

    and you are right–life is too short. now a wake up call–i savor each moment, i do whatever pleases me within the moral bounds, i do not let my life and that of my family depend on others. i make my own decisions. what joy!

    how about you myepinOy? anything going on in your mind? but don’t be in haste, don’t take the next plane out for manila, plan wisely, make a decision, then do what you know is best.

  9. 9 Jayred June 27, 2007 at 1:03 pm

    This post makes me crave for tuyo…. Shallow comment, but it’s true.🙂

  10. 10 eric aka senor enrique June 28, 2007 at 2:59 pm

    Very inspiring, Rolly.

    We all have the capacity to create the condition we desire.

  11. 11 rhodora June 29, 2007 at 6:18 pm

    This is nice, Rolly. I like it. It’s inspiring, motivating and thought provoking… Cheers!🙂


Leave a Reply

Tweets

Categories


