Will I be in outer space after October, 2007?

How far can your credit card and your credit card company bring you?

Take a look at this promo material that I received from American Express.

American Express Promo

The promo says that every time I use my American Express Card, I am entered into the draw to win a trip of a lifetime to the edge of the stratosphere at an altitude of more than 55,000 feet, a chance to see space as seen by only few and be the first from KSA to journey to the edge of space in this millennium. The promo ends on 31 October, 2007.

This early, there are already so many ideas going in and out of my mind about this ranging from simple to outrageous. Like if I win, what sort of things I will do up there? Will I wave the Philippine flag while singing Lupang Hinirang or Ako ay Filipino (I am a Filipino), recite Panatang Makabayan, blog, or what? Will I meet the likes of Yoda, Obi-wan Kenobi, Luke Skywalker, Princess Leia, Darth Vader, Captain Kean-Luc or Captain Katryn Janeway? Will I be able to see Pluto, the ninth planet that we came to know when we were young but turned out to be not on Aug 24, 2006? What will I say to reporters? I presume this will be a big media event.

You may call me too optimistic or presumptuous or whatever. I will not mind it. I want to be up there. And besides dreaming is free, right?

There is one thing that bothers me though. If you noticed, there is a phrase on the right side of the promo material that reads “Wish you were here?

Does this mean that this trip on the edge of the space is one way and that I will be there for the rest of my life, just floating forever? If this is the case then, it is really “Wish you were here!” and my ultimate cry will be, “Ibalik nyo ako sa Pilipinas!(to experience R.A. 9372).

Before I snap and go beyond dreaming (to state of halucination), let me ask you these. If you were given this chance, what sort of things will you do up there? What do you suggest must I do first when I am up there?

7 Responses to “Will I be in outer space after October, 2007?”


  1. 1 SexyMom July 20, 2007 at 6:24 am

    first thing to do? relaaaax in peace and quiet. if you were on earth, it would be last in your list–the way you have been working since you returned from your home leave, there’s no chance that you would ever relax. at least in outer space, you have all the chance to do so.

    afterwards, enjoy the sights, how i love watching the stars on a clear summer evening–i did that when i went to bicol last summer–it was awesome. more awesome it would be if you were in space! oh, to see for yourself those heavenly wonders. it must perhaps be such an emotional affair. and yes, feel God’s mighty wonders, feel God’s comforting presence.

  2. 2 myepinoy July 20, 2007 at 1:34 pm

    Sexy Mom, “And yes, feel God’s mighty wonders, feel God’s comforting presence.” Feel God’s presence is the best thing I must do up there.

    And yes, I will enjoy the awesome heavenly wonders that He created, more closer this time.

    Thank you so much.

  3. 3 Paris July 21, 2007 at 2:51 am

    I enjoyed reading your post 😛

    What do you suggest must I do first when I am up there?
    -Look at the earth and admire what you see. Look if you can see the Philippines up there. Just admire what you see and treasure every moment.

  4. 4 myepinoy July 21, 2007 at 9:21 am

    Paris: I will definitely do that. Thank you.

  5. 5 Fatimah July 22, 2007 at 1:43 pm

    Hi!! =)

    Don’t think much! Ask them if you can take me with you =p,, I’m not eligible for the prize but I’d love to go that far away from Earth!

    myepinoy: Hi, welcome back. Glad to hear from you again. Ok, i will not think much. I’ll ask them if it is possible.

  6. 6 betty August 11, 2007 at 9:35 am

    Winning this promo is a long shot! But personally i dnt find it appealing. Maybe a trip around the world will be better

  7. 7 myepinoy August 11, 2007 at 10:25 am

    Betty, They have done that before this promo. I did not win. and you are abosultely right, winning this promo is a long shot, even a dream.

    Thank you for the visit.


Leave a Reply

Tweets

Categories


