What is a good story?

Someone asked me, “What is a good or bad story to you?”

Hmm, what really is a good story to me?

Well, a good story to me is the story that makes me think. The story is not good to me if I can guess what will happen to the characters or predict what is the ending of the story being told. It would be great if characters are not constant because as we all know, human beings are unpredictable until death.

A good story to me also means that it must have a definite conclusion, the characters’ actions or actuations including the unpredictable behavior of the characters are all justified, the seemingly unrelated events and circumstances, and the words spoken and used are all clearly connected and closed at the end. Thus, if it keeps me guessing (not thinking) a lot of things at the end, it is definitely a bad story for me. It is like a bomb detonated by someone without a purpose.

Stories about our country, Gloria, Erap, our politicians, our economy are but few of the many examples of the bad stories you and me have to hear and see everyday.

What is a good or bad story to you?

6 Responses to “What is a good story?”


  1. 1 lawstude November 19, 2007 at 11:44 am

    it may be a cliche but to me a good story is when good prevails over evil. and in my court battles, when justice is undeniable served – a rarity in present times. have a nice day.

  2. 2 annamanila November 20, 2007 at 6:17 am

    It can be an ordinary story written extraordinarily, with some flash of insight or ironic twist (ala O Henry), or humor preferably directed towards self (ala Jessica Zafra).

    I like it open ended … when I can speculate on the conclusion.

    I like elegant turns of phrases (ala Steinbeck).

    I like three dimensional characters.

    I like action taking place within (the mind) rather than out of it.

    The story of the country’s political life is not a good story in itself but it can be turned into one.

  3. 3 Schumey November 20, 2007 at 8:29 am

    A good story for me would be: Poverty Eradicated, Literacy Rate Is 100% or Every Filipino Has His Own Land. Bad story would be: GMA To Stay On After 2010.

  4. 4 verns November 20, 2007 at 9:54 am

    A good story for me is something that makes me feel good after I watched it🙂 as simple as that hehe hindi ako mahirap e-please🙂

  5. 5 romelettedj November 21, 2007 at 4:54 pm

    good story something that motivates me and make me realized that im blessed despite of everything bad that is happening around me.

    bad story..ung nde ka magiisip and will just leave you irritated.

  6. 6 sexy mom November 24, 2007 at 10:26 pm

    a good story to me is one that leaves me with a feel good effect, something that tickles my imagination, something that leaves a smile on my face, something that accompanies me to my sleep, yes, even perhaps dream about it. ah, a good story is always welcome.

    a bad story? please, please, let’s not just talk about it…its bad vibes!


Leave a Reply

Tweets

Categories


