Home Alone

Every Saturday, I always go home from work early at around 2PM. After I have taken away (from my body) all the props as a banker except my underwear (do I have one?), I will immediately put my washing machine to work. And as it has become a routine, while waiting for my washing machine to finishits job of moderating the greed err the dirt, I have the habit of switching the TV on NOT to watch what is being shown but purely for the noises it generates so I can hear someone talking that keeps my illusion or delusion – I am not alone.

Honestly speaking the life of an OFW is sometimes too stressful. Living alone, doing everything alone, doing it alone and being alone gives you the creep once or every time you entered your so-called room (alone). I guess, even if you have a nagging wife or mother whom you always tried to avoid, you cannot help but think, once in a while perhaps, that you were better off with her than being alone with yourself. You may call it homesickness or whatever term available in the dictionary, it is one and same feeling of being alone (that you dread).

There are times however that I watch the 1 versus 100 show that is being shown here almost exactly at the time that my washing machine is moderating the dirt. And mind you, it somehow made me think of joining the game show not for the prize or to show that I (myepinoy) have something inside my coconut which for sure, (I know) I have none but, for the simple reason that I would like to say I’ll TAKE THE MOB! Ha ha ha, crazy ha? I told you, I’ve got nothing in my head.

I’LL TAKE THE MOB! What a bold statement to say to their faces. The feeling would have been fantastic, ecstatic, neurotic, … But the recent events leading to the appearance of an honest and courageous contestant named Rodolfo “Jun” Lozada, an ex-OFW, made me think otherwise. I realized that it is not that easy as it appeared to be going to the 1 versus 100 game show.

I am an OFW and as such, I will go home using the plane. The plane that would bring me to Philippines, just like that of Jun Lozada, would surely and definitely land in the historical NAIA (Ninoy Aquino International Airport) where the Black Hole exists and where humanoids, aliens or robots can come and take anyone out, right there at the tube of the plane. Although these humanoids, aliens or robots speak Tagalog, they won’t tell who they really are. There is however no reason to worry or be afraid. The mob can assure you that they are friendly, they do not bite but they can shoot and kill anytime, and they are just there to protect and secure you from all threats, known, unknown, conceived, inconceivable or otherwise.

The way they handled contestant Rodoflfo “Jun” Lozada, although he was given a VIP treatment accorded to visiting presidents with added services of a joyride from the airport tarmac to Laguna to Eastwood and to La Salle, I would not, in my whole life wish to be a VIP. I would chicken out (like Romulo Neri) and wouldn’t want to be a contestant (like Romulo Neri again) of 1 versus one hundred either. Would you?

And in this case unlike Romulo Neri who decided to be with the gang (until the right time comes or his sense of right and wrong bothers him, perhaps), I would just prefer and embrace being alone in my room, doing everything alone, doing it alone and being alone.

Today (not on a Saturday), my washing machine finished moderating the greed err the dirt. It is now time to hang the clothes, all by myself, alone. This washing machine of mine is too noisy. Like a nagging wife at night, it would never stop beeping unless you open its cover. lol

A lesson in history – The end Pyrrhus of Epirus:

In 272, Cleonymus, a Spartan of royal blood who was hated among fellow Spartans, asked Pyrrhus to attack Sparta and place him in power. Pyrrhus agreed to the plan intending to win control of the Peloponnese for himself but unexpectedly strong resistance thwarted his assault on Sparta. He was immediately offered an opportunity to intervene in a civic dispute in Argos. Entering the city with his army by stealth, he found himself caught in a confused battle in the narrow city streets. During the confusion an old Argead woman watching from a rooftop threw a roofing tile, which stunned him, allowing an Argive soldier to kill him (some reports claim he was poisoned by a servant).

And a quote from William Shakespeare:

“Let me tell you, Cassius, you yourself are much condemned to have an itching palm.”

9 Responses to “Home Alone”


  1. 1 lerms February 15, 2008 at 5:11 pm

    If i am to give a title to your article it will be …. my nagging washing machine lol

    Well i dont really know what to comment … your being alone, your desire to join the game show of 1 vs 100 to shout I’ll take the mob…lol or the political issue but anyway , its not really easy to be alone.. but im sure all your sacrifices will be rewarded… for the meantime just enjoy the company of your mechanical companion…🙂

    me says: Lerms, I love your honesty. this post is not out to educate but to confuse. LOL

    Thank you so much.

  2. 2 bw February 16, 2008 at 6:13 pm

    By now I could hazard a guess that you’ve found that there is joy in being alone bro🙂 For one, it does provide you the ability to write such creative posts hahaha🙂

    On de Venecia, Lozada, Neri et.al… one wonders if someone will be prosecuted and hanged for this apparently horrendous
    crime of plunder when you think that barely months ago, a disgraced plunderer who single handedly stole more than the disputed money on the ZTE imbroglio had been set free in the eyes of the nation😦

  3. 3 Jayred February 16, 2008 at 10:21 pm

    This may sound kind of lame, but doing the laundry alone can cause mild depression.🙂

    Belated Happy Valentine’s Day, Myepinoy! Hope you called the Missus last Thursday.

  4. 4 annamanila February 17, 2008 at 10:46 am

    Take the mob. Or home alone?

    Which should it be? But better home — the home where the heart is, ano. It will happen soon .. as soon as you have found you have enough of the goods of this world. For you it will happen soon enough. For others .. a bit later if at all.

    Forgive me for rambling. But this post somehow reminds me of quotes (ha, akala mo ikaw lang ang mahilig sa quotations ano?):

    “When I am all alone in the madding crowd, when small talk chokes me, when stock phrases of technocrats make my stomach turn, I think of ______.” (Hayan, may fill in the blanks pa.) – from a poem “I think of you, sometimes” by you know who).

    Then there is this phrase about “being alone with yourself and enjoy the company.”

    Cheers.

  5. 5 verns February 18, 2008 at 9:41 am

    Wow! Galing mo Myepinoy…you know, associating the gameshow to this ZTE Scandal. Oo nga naman…1 VS 100 or more.

  6. 6 SexyMom February 18, 2008 at 10:26 am

    this and annamanila’s quote reminds me of one of the poems of my youth, which i quote

    it’s deafening—the quiet stillness of the night
    wondering why it is so
    to shout out loud only to hear
    the quiet mockery of my very call
    brought by echoes from nowhere
    just like the veiled sarcasm of bitter moments
    when in a crowd but feeling alone
    only to be lost in what i call my own
    i have been through this many times
    but i haven’t felt such pain, such bitterness
    now i can tell one from the other
    just like telling moments from memories
    loneliness and aloneness are two different things.

  7. 7 milet February 19, 2008 at 3:59 am

    nagging wife ? ehh?😉. being an ofw really is a big sacrifice. then when you hear the news you will be hearing those politicians bickering. hay buhay!

  8. 8 rhodora February 23, 2008 at 3:41 am

    Wow, tagal kong di nadalaw dito, I have to catch up with reading your entries.

    But wait….

    “even if you have a nagging wife or mother whom you always tried to avoid, you cannot help but think, once in a while perhaps, that you were better off with her than being alone with yourself.”

    Could you email me your wife’s number? hehehe.

    Seriously though – after reading this entry, I now understand more why OFWs are called heroes. Indeed, you are a hero to your family and to country, Myepinoy.


  1. 1 Jocelyn “Joc-Joc” Bolante « myepinOy’s bLOG Trackback on October 28, 2008 at 12:01 am

Leave a Reply

Tweets

Categories


