Some basics and lots of bad habits

Earlier in the day yesterday, I had a telephone conversation with someone abroad. She told me that she called the other day (Wednesday) and was informed that I was already out. She said that the impression she got from what she was told that it’s like I had a “DO NOT DISTURB” sign because “I am playing tennis.”

She also told me that “you are probably a good tennis player” for which I humbly replied, “Not really. I know some basics and lots of bad habits but surely I can play around [darn] good. Ana Ivanovic could lose a match with me if she loosened her grip on her racket.” Of course this is untrue and will never happen, just exaggerating.

She said, “The next time I’ll be there I would like to play with you. Then I’ll know what basics you are good at and those bad habits you said you have. Pretty interesting to discover how you play around ha. Don’t you think so?” She laughed.

I said, “Well let us see how you can play around with me. ha ha ha.”

She said, “Come on DOM (drugged old man). ha ha ha”

Then we were on to official business.

On my way home, I was thinking of what I said about my tennis skills, “some basics and lots of bad habits and surely can play around.” I realized that with regards to our life and spirituality, in one way or the other “many if not all of us have only some basics and lots of bad habits and are always playing around.”

He said, “Seek and you shall find, knock and it shall be opened unto you, ask and you shall receive.” Did we all buy this idea? Perhaps yes, perhaps no.

When a new product is introduced thru an advertisement that says, “Here is a new thing that opens new doors and satisfies your earthly desires, come and you have it.” we buy the idea just like that. So we seek it, we longed for it. We knock its other out so we can have it.

Funny or sad but this is happening somewhere and somehow.

At the end of it all, it seems that we always carry the sign, “Please DO NOT DISTURB!

5 Responses to “Some basics and lots of bad habits”


  1. 1 Jayred March 22, 2008 at 4:55 pm

    DOM ka pala? Drugged old man? LOL

  2. 2 bingskee March 23, 2008 at 5:08 pm

    nice, thought-provoking post… sorry not to have been able to visit lately, rolly. guilty, guilty of not having enough time.😦

  3. 3 anoba March 25, 2008 at 9:49 pm

    I am afraid that if Ana I. decided to play with you, there will be a big sign that says “DO NOT DISTURB!” So, perhaps an invitation to watch will be sent out for the select few to see the game and I wish I will be given one. LOL

  4. 4 bw March 27, 2008 at 3:38 am

    Your post speaks a lot about the imprefections of life. Life is never perfect so we carry on, not dwelling too much on the bad but the good or at least thinking that we are good🙂

  5. 5 annamanila April 4, 2008 at 7:46 am

    I guess some people would put up a “Do not disturb sign” when what they really want to say is “Disturb me, oh, please disturb me.”


Leave a Reply

Tweets

Categories


