A woman’s cry

Friday, 09 May 2008

For a very long time, I have not seen a real woman cry in front of me.

The feeling is heavy. It is so unbearable to see those tears dropping continuously from her eyes down to her pale cheeks. Her silent sob is deafening. It melts me.

I thought I am used to this because of Pinoy drama and MMK (Maalala Mo Kaya) over TFC but I was totally mistaken.

Perhaps I was away too long from this reality. I tell you, it sent shivers to my bone.

Perhaps it is because I know her husband and knowing that a friend, an officemate is in comatose completes the real drama and the chill.

Perhaps it is the realization that life is very short. (Kanina lang!)

Perhaps it is really hard to see a woman cry.

Sunday, 11 May 2008

On Mother’s Day, my friend left – not in another country as an OFW but in another form to a place where we all must go.

5 Responses to “A woman’s cry”


  1. 1 anoba May 13, 2008 at 5:47 pm

    Grief is what that cry is all about. And who could stand it without feeling anything?

    Nakikiramay ako sa kaibigan, sa ka-uring manggagawang OFW, isang tunay na bayani ng ating henerasyon.

  2. 2 Jayred May 13, 2008 at 7:45 pm

    My condolences, Rolly.

    It’s hard to lose a loved one. It must be very hard for the wife….

    May God comfort all of you in these days of grief.

  3. 3 Major Tom May 14, 2008 at 10:40 am

    It would be such a sad and lamentable scene. “Let Her Cry” as the song goes, it’ll be better that way.

  4. 4 annamanila May 14, 2008 at 8:14 pm

    Oh, no. He died there, in Saudi? I am so sorry, myepinoy. So painful. And I guess still so young and with children here. His wife (also an OFW?) needs a lot of help and solace. But I guess you have a Pinoy community there that closes ranks when disaster strikes.

    Naalala ko tuloy yung office colleague ko (did I tell you about her?) who went to SA to join her OFW-husband for a brief spell. Before they could proceed to the USA to visit a son as planned, they met with a car accident where my friend (and another woman) died and her husband survived. That was one of the darkest days of our office life. It took a month for her body to be flown home; they had to waive all financial claims for damages.

  5. 5 bw May 15, 2008 at 2:21 pm

    Moments like these, seeing and feeling sorrow makes us appreciate ourselves and life better .

    It is always heartbreaking to hear of such a loss. My condolences to your friend’s family.


Leave a Reply

Tweets

Categories


