This is not all about Michael Phelps or me…

but,  …. whatever.

Yesterday was Ninoy’s 25th death anniversay. Today, would you still consider his statement that “The Filipino is worth dying for?”

* * *

Every time someone asked “how are you doing?”, I usually answer, “Ah I am okay. As usual, I am busy making money.” Amazingly enough, some took it lightly, some said give me some money, few had the courage to tell me break my leg baby and many said break it to me gently please.

Making money means, “working your butt all day” which, if translated to Filipino, it means “pinagtatrabaho mo ang pwet mo buong araw.” HA HA HA.

To put it simply, this is the one thing that you can’t do without except if you have everything. This is the one thing that makes many people sick, the one that is continuously exhausting and stressing out most people mentally, physically and psychologically, the one that makes the world go round and round. Humans invented it and they simply call it WORK. OKAY?

Because I often said, “I am making money” to those who asked what’s up with me, some of them thought that I have all my time devoted to this. Honestly speaking, it is, however, I also have some time for other things. I also breathe, sleep, eat and at times, I escape from making money, I play tennis.

Like right now, I am playing for the Philippine National Bank (PNB) team that is competing for the Cathay Pacific Cup 2008 Team Tennis tournament. This is my second time with them and hopefully at the end, we will have the championships. The last one with KRSDA Tennis tournament was not so good because four of our players went home for vacation and emergency leave. We landed first runner-up though.

Last Friday (August 15), I played my first game. I won but I was not satisfied with the way it went. In the middle of the game, I was so exhausted and I ran like my age. Hahaha

The reasons: for the past few months, I never had any honest to goodness practice – at least two to three hours a day, three times a week and I’ve got less energy.

Without the much-needed practice and the nagging question of how I must keep my energy high during the game (considering that most of my energies are already used up making money before I could even play), I could only imagine that my next game would be another epic struggle.

As I see it now, with regards to keeping my energy high, I entertained the idea that perhaps I must try the diet of American swimmer Michael Phelps. But then, I am not a swimmer, I do not have the luxury of time to prepare them, I do not intend to eat pasta and eggs nor live on a diet with 12,000 calories all the time either, I am not as young as Michael Phelps and I am Filipino whose life began few years ago. And so, the only logical option for me then is to go for more KANIN to power me on. Not a bad option to consider at this time because KANIN is pack with carbohydrates too. The downside to this is that after this tournament is over,  I would end up as “BIGATIN”, figure-wise or literally. Ha ha ha

But you know what? Thinking about all these and many other things, my mind went somewhere and it reminded me that there are people in my country who are neither an athlete nor a person who play the usual sports. Those kinds of people who are not actually engage in sports but the world considered them as players too. They play dangerous sports that do not need the diet of Phelps or the usual Kanin but they feed themselves with money and power. They always play hard and play dirty all the time as well. They play wicked games on everyone and anyone who go against them.

They play not for an Olympic gold or glory but they play for themselves alone. Unlike our Olympic team, they need no financial support because they have the people’s money at their disposal. They do not need an Olympic stadium as such, they don’t need to go there.

They play their games on each and every Pinoy lives and the nation’s future is the game they love to play on.

Here is a poem written by Kabalyero, a fellow OFW describing exactly the characteristics of these players.

Hanggang lango pa si GMA sa kapangyarihan,
habang uhaw pa sya sa kayamanan,
habang nag-uumapaw pa sa kanya ang pagnanasa,
habang naglalaway pa at gustong magpasasa
habang may mga maaamo pa syang galamay
Mananaig ang pusong punong-puno ng kasakiman
Mananaig ang pagkaduhapang na makamtan ang lahat
Gaano man at sinuman ang masagasaan
kapalit man nito ang ating kasarinlan
o maging ang mahal nating buhay
Patuloy siyang magiging
Gahaman,
Mandaraya at
Ambisyosa.

Pilipinas, saan ka tutungo?

Now, let me repeat my earlier question. Would you still consider Ninoy’s statement that “The Filipino is worth dying for?”

Tell me!

9 Responses to “This is not all about Michael Phelps or me…”


  1. 1 bobang pinay August 23, 2008 at 7:54 am

    muypinoy..paste ko na lang yung reply ko sa tanong mo sa kabila🙂

    “kung adventurista ka pwedeng mong yakapin yang prinsipyo na yan.

    marami akong kilala noon, sugod ng sugod. sa rally pa lang para ng gustong manawagan ng rebolusyon.

    hindi ka dapat mamatay para sa mga pinoy…dapat mabuhay ka para sa mga pinoy.

    sabi nga diba “kung hindi ako..sino?”

    e kung patay ka na? sino pa ang magtatanggol para sa mga pinoy?

    yung tamang sagot ko….Filipino is worth of hunger for….huwag ka lang munang mamamatay sa gutom lol!”

    ganda ng tula ni kabalyero🙂

  2. 2 anoba August 23, 2008 at 11:26 am

    Bro,

    after all that’s said and done, the filipino is still worth dying for.

    take the case of being an ofw. if it isn’t worth anything, what it is then?

    i must agree there are lots of pinoys who are not worthy of Ninoy’s blood.

  3. 3 tutubi August 23, 2008 at 3:15 pm

    the Filipino is still worth dying for…pero hindi lahat lalo na mga pasaway at wala pakialam

  4. 4 edelweiza August 23, 2008 at 5:37 pm

    palagay ko oo pa rin kc marami pa ring pilipino na makabansa at naglalayon ng mabuti para dito.

    P.S. mabuti naman po ako myepinoy, tama pla ako ikaw yung myepinoy na kilala ko…lumipat ka na kc sa wordpress eh, ako nmn ngblogspot na. bagong tahanan pero prehong katauhan pa rin.ayus!🙂

  5. 6 Toe August 26, 2008 at 4:28 am

    Diba Pilipino tayo? Then, yes of course.🙂

    12,000 calories? Ang dami non! Ang dami sigurong binuburn talaga ni Michael Phelps.

  6. 7 Jayred August 28, 2008 at 10:56 am

    Yes, I do believe that the Filipino is still worth dying for, despite the widespread corruption in government and the national discontent.

    *****

    Hope you win the tennis tournament. Wish you all the Nadal-like strength you need to be a champ.🙂 (Hay, Federer is just number two now in world tennis.)

    BTW, I have a question: is it still possible to learn tennis when one is in his/her late thirties?

  7. 8 just passing thru September 22, 2008 at 1:28 pm

    stumbled on your site while looking for something else. while here, might as well – yes, the filipino is worth dying for. enough said.

    it’s good you are busy making money, may that money come to good use one day to fight the evil forces you described. and may you be blessed with much success so you, in turn, can be a blessing to other filipinos.

    more power to you.


  1. 1 Lost in pronounciation « myepinOy’s bLOG Trackback on September 3, 2008 at 7:24 pm

Leave a Reply

Tweets

Categories


