Lost in pronunciation

Just BECAUSE:

  • at this point in time here in this part of the world  is a fasting month (restaurants are closed during daytime and no one is allowed to eat, smoke or drink in public else you end up in jail or whatever).
  • I do not know how to cook my own food – I usually depend on restaurants.
  • for the past three days I have not taken in a good energy boosting KANIN and the Pinoy food I like.

I  called my couple friend, instructed them to prepare the best food because  I’d come to have a free lunch, whether they  like it or not (this style works fine from time to time  parang shock and awe, ha ha ha).

Shocked and awed (perhaps, ha ha ha), they prepared  a good meal for me of sinigang na hipon, daing na bangus at meron pang mangga and bagoong.  Mind you, it was like heaven (di ko alam sa kanila) and boy, after that meal, I was really energized!  I was indeed a very very happy, contented and sleepy man.

Going home after a great free lunch, I called a taxi. Immediately, I got in because it was very hot outside and besides, my body was aching for the other craving, a good afternoon nap which I never wanted to miss.

As the taxi rolled, the Pakistani taxi driver asked me “Where to kabayan?”

I told him, “At the back of Marriott Hotel.”

He looked at me and said, “Where, again?”

And again, I told him, “At the back of Marriott Hotel!”

He gawked at me, like he was lost, “Again, where are we going?”

So, I said, “Did you know where Marriott Hotel is?”

He answered, “Yes.”

So I told him, “At Marriott Hotel, at the BACK of Marriott Hotel. OKAY?”

And he said, “Ah at the beck of Marriott Hotel.”

I said, “What?”

Beaming with pride and full of confidence, he told me “You are wrong. It must be pronounced as at the beck of Marriott. Hotel.”

I sensed that the taxi driver would again teach me how to pronounce “at the back of Marriott hotel”,  at the same time I thought that he might be lost and hence, a great possibility that I would miss my other craving, I just told him, “Ah yours is the British way – at the beck, while mine is the American way – at the back of Marriott Hotel.”

Although we still both have our ways of saying it, after few minutes, I finally arrived safely at the beck of Marriott hotel the British way.

Ha ha ha.

13 Responses to “Lost in pronunciation”


  1. 1 bw September 3, 2008 at 9:39 pm

    hahaha.. did he say ” good marning” to you too ?🙂

    Those stubborn Brits really, doing things always differently, insisting on driving on the right side of the road🙂

    me says, perhaps i did not hear it because he might have said it at the beck of my head… LOL

  2. 2 edelweiza September 4, 2008 at 6:23 am

    lol.

    uy sarap ng lunch nyo in fairness ha! pinoy na pinoy.ok lng mgramadan bsta gnyan pagkain nyo.🙂

    me says, ay naku talaga,….. kung lagi okay sa friend ko, OKAY talaga…. LOL

  3. 3 Jayred September 4, 2008 at 4:50 pm

    All is well that ends well.

    Good you arrived safe and sound at the ‘beck’ of the Marriott Hotel (LOL).

    me says, Correct. I was grateful, there was no traffic and i arrived in just few minutes else i will be suffocated. Matindi ang amoy na naamoy ko while sitting at the ‘beck’ of that taxi driver… LOL

  4. 4 Jayred September 4, 2008 at 8:15 pm

    “Matindi ang amoy na naamoy ko while sitting at the ‘beck’ of that taxi driver…”

    Hahaha!

    me says, Ay sus grabe talaga…

  5. 5 mimi September 5, 2008 at 2:52 am

    hehe.. ang kulets… ^_^ at nagtatagalog pa!

    me says, oo nga eh, natututo din sila magtagalog sa dami kasi pinoy na OFW’s dito.

  6. 6 soulsheik September 5, 2008 at 4:19 am

    Filipino dishes that you crave are simple to make. Learn how to cook when you have the time. It’s rewarding and fulfilling, when someday you would invite another Filipino over for lunch or dinner. And when you cook your own food, you’d be able save a lot of money! Which reminds me, “I’m getting hungry.”

    me says, I will, sir. thank you.

  7. 7 Major Tom September 5, 2008 at 4:31 am

    It’s amazing how the people who originnaly spoken English could be mostly unintelligible when they speak. That’s a huge irony for me.

    me says, ha ha ha… perhaps some of them are good for the books or other written form and stage or theaters…

  8. 8 annamanila September 5, 2008 at 4:41 pm

    Ang galing ng titling nitong post na ito! Lost in pronunciation. Eh sa tutuo kanya-kanya namang accent hindi ba. Pero that’s also what I didn’t learn — pronounce the short “a” the western way. Para kasing ang arte arte mo if you say beck instead of back, benk instead of bank, peck your begs instead of pack your bags. Pero I guess one can’t be hired sa call center if you don’t. haha.

    me says, parang i pick a peck of pickles put it at the beck before i go to the benk that is near the river benk.

    sa call center, siguro kung ang i se serve mong customers ay doon sa side ng world… ha ha ha

  9. 9 annamanila September 5, 2008 at 4:43 pm

    I forgot to say I am glad you had a very pinoy and very masarap na lunch. Wow, sinigang na hipon. Paborito!

    me says, actually i requested my son over YM and he answered “Huh? What??????“…

    One thing i learned, i realized that my son was useless at that time…. LOL

    singigang na hipon, i know favorite mo yon….

  10. 10 Sexy Mom September 6, 2008 at 1:39 am

    haughty him, and that must be the perception of his other compatriots toward us filipinos, as we do not generally speak the british way. they think they are the most educated people in the whole wide world (hellow!).

    this is exactly why after 22 years in the international organization that i worked with (60 nationalities, traveling extensively, remote towns and villages included) i ended up with a corrupted tone and accent. I had to be flexible from country to country, speaking with the americans their way, the brits their way, the nasal french, low and high japanese pitch,the monosyllabic vietnamese, and so forth and so forth. what the heck, same same lang naman ang ibig sabihin. so in china 8 years ago, when i got tired of giving the taxi driver instructions in english, nagtagalog na lang ako. hindi naman din nya maintindihan ang ingles e. nakakaloka talaga.

    happy weekend, myepinOy!

    me says, ha ha ha, natauhan ba? anyway, happy weekend too.

  11. 11 backbone September 10, 2008 at 9:05 pm

    ala ba beck’s beer? :p

    muzta na bro?

    me says, pulutan marami, inumin delikado… oks lang. musta ba ang germany at formula 1?

  12. 12 caryn September 26, 2008 at 6:27 am

    wahahaha! this is priceless😉 the beck indeed. heehee


  1. 1 Kwentado: Kwentong Wala Lang o Walang Kwenta « myepinOy’s bLOG Trackback on April 4, 2010 at 1:00 pm

Leave a Reply

Tweets

Categories


