Of being a father

I just had my short vacation a week ago and it was great.

What made this vacation great you may ask? Well, let me tell you this: after so many years I felt that I have become a “father” again to my youngest daughter.

Oh, please do not get me wrong here. I have never been a delinquent or irresponsible father and I have no plans (yet, ha ha ha) of becoming one  to my kids. It is just that when I left to work abroad, I can’t do some simple “fatherly” things anymore like bringing and picking them up in school. As it is always the case for a father like me, the situation has become “Virtual” in the sense that I am always with them all throughout but physically I am somewhere making money in other part of the world.

Sometimes I am an emotional person and I admit with all honesty, I really missed the feeling of being a “physically present father” to my daughter. She, being the youngest among my three kids got the least out of this so-called “fatherly” thing experience.

To catch up on that feeling… I did the “hatid and sundo” everyday just like when she was young and I was still there.  I just do not know if my daughter loved it but what the heck. I am still the father who misses doing this sentimental sort of thing.

Sabi nga, it is never too late to do some of the things you want to do. Or, it is just that when one grows old, you tend to __________________. (bahala na kayo magdugtong)

Bago mapunta sa iba ang usapan, let me tell you this, IT WAS GREAT!

8 Responses to “Of being a father”


  1. 1 iluvnix October 24, 2008 at 2:26 pm

    daddy…

    ako nanaman ang topic mo ha… hahahahahaha!!!

  2. 2 Sexy Mom October 24, 2008 at 3:44 pm

    drumroll…and music please…clap clap clap! must have been long overdue. you and your daughter (and the rest of the family members i suppose) deserve the long overdue vacation. of course virtual is different from physical and face to face interaction, but sometimes, there is very little choice, or i mean there are priorities. most of the time, absence makes one appreciate the simple joys in life.

    take for example families who are together, intact–the simple act of making hatid sundo, which was a joy to you in the few days that you were home, to the point of your being emo, is taken for granted by many, nakakasawaan, or sometimes a cause of pikunan among family members.

    now, another to look forward to–the next vacation, to be a physical father once more. back to being virtual again, but i am sure the same love and even more is shared with family.

  3. 3 Jayred October 24, 2008 at 10:57 pm

    “Or, it is just that when one grows old, you tend to __________________.”

    Here are some optional info-gap answers:

    …be more dramatic. (Hehehe)
    …be wiser.🙂
    …prioritize the more important things in life.
    …be more mature. (LOL)

    Seriously, I think your bunso enjoyed your special hatid sundo services.🙂

  4. 4 Major Tom October 25, 2008 at 10:18 pm

    I do that to my kids too bro, making hatid and sundo and just like you said it, its sort of a ritual between fathers and mothers and the kids, like nothing else.

    But like you, I have become so busy lately with work that I might not be able to do that often now. But, there’d always be a time for that.

    Masayang pagbalik sa bansa bro…

  5. 5 mimi October 27, 2008 at 10:52 pm

    nong umuwi din ang papa ko last 2 years.. hawak hawak kami sa kamay, na parang 5 years old kami habang gumagala sa mall.. 22 yrs old na ata ako noon. ^_^

    nakakamiss tuloy maging bata…

  6. 6 bw October 28, 2008 at 6:18 pm

    I’ll tell you – we’re never too old to be a father bro. Just enjoy your daughter’s company before she settles down and raises her own family🙂


  1. 1 PED XING « myepinOy’s bLOG Trackback on November 13, 2008 at 12:57 am
  2. 2 Kwentado: Kwentong Wala Lang o Walang Kwenta « myepinOy’s bLOG Trackback on April 4, 2010 at 1:00 pm

Leave a Reply

Tweets

Categories


