PED XING

Noong nakaraang bakasyon ko, maraming bagay ang aking napansin katulad ng mga bagong billboards ng mga kapalmoks na mga pulitiko, mayors at kay pink dude Bayani Fernando. Pero isa sa mga kamangha-mangha sa akin (of course di na nakakamangha na makakapal talaga ang mga mukha ng mga pulitiko at opisyal ng gobyerno sa Pinas) ay ang mga malalaking PED XING signs sa street of the city of Manila.

Noong una akala ko, bagong pangalan ng street ito sa Manila at iniisip ko baka ito ay name of a Chinese historical figure or baka isang bagong “great or outstanding Manilenyo” with or from a Filipino-Chinese roots. At kung hindi ako nagkakamali, I guess I saw PED XING signs outside the Philippines before.

Sabi ko, this guy must be really great or probably one of the greatest peps on earth or perhaps a pet of one of the crazy but influential politicians — his or her name found a place in that long and busy stretch of manila street and in that part of the world that I’ve been to which I could not remember.

I was curious. One day, I told my daughter, “Don’t you think I also deserved  such kind of honor and that there must be a street named after me instead of that  PED XING? After all I am a recognized hero by the government of arroyo. The New Super Hero, so they say.”

“Dad! I have a long final exams today!” she answered. “I know, but who is PED XING?” was my quick reply.

“Dad, haven’t you noticed that whenever there are white lines painted on the street you’d see PED XING? Go Figure. Bye.” She kissed me and ran.

And so, on my way back, my small brain tried its best to figure out PED XING by way of association: PED XING,  always with white sometimes yellow lines painted on the street. Damn PED XING, my small brain is on vacation. Now, it must work!

Finally, when the stoplight turned red, people of all kinds and sizes started moving within that area of the street with white lines which is just below the big sign  PED XING, my small brain had an answer to my incredible question.  PED XING is after all not a person. It is Pedestrian Crossing. Shaks, why didn’t I think of that fast?

When I reached home, I told my wife, “Please give me a cup of coffee, my mind have been PED XING for almost an hour.”  My wife answered, “PED XING what?”

Thanks goodness, hindi ako nag iisa.

12 Responses to “PED XING”


  1. 1 Sexy Mom November 13, 2008 at 10:51 am

    lol! same here. first time i saw one was the very rare times that i passed by that street before Espana. i really thought this person was a very prominent one, who i was wondering i didn’t know or heard of. i was even trying to recall if i saw the same name in beijing where i stayed for half a year.

    and finally i asked my sons (after a few weeks that i have been seeing the same name here and there), sino kaya si ped xing? siguro sikat na tao ano?

    hindi nga pala ako nag-iisa, akala ko pa naman dami ako alam.

    how are you doing, myepinoy?

  2. 2 mimi November 13, 2008 at 2:17 pm

    pagnaririnig ko po ang word na yan. ung tunog ng baril nasa isip ko…

    para kasing.. “tagsing””.. tagsing.. hays…
    di po ako nagbibiro.. ^_^

  3. 3 Jayred November 13, 2008 at 4:33 pm

    Hahaha! Pareho tayo, Myepinoy.

    When I visited Manila sometime in 2006, I saw the Ped Xing sign sa La Salle. I said to myself, “Ah, they are honoring a Chinese guy siguro.” My sister, who was with me, thought the same thing. Then, after a few minutes of reflection, na-gets ko na rin kasi I saw the pedestrian crossing lines.

    These signs were so much influenced by the TXT language.

    This is not ideal for English language learning.

  4. 4 bingskee November 13, 2008 at 6:29 pm

    we thought that it was a road in honor of a Chinese hero. then we saw it was not alone. we laughed upon realizing. and we thought it silly, too.

  5. 6 razie November 14, 2008 at 1:23 am

    hi! i am just planning to put up my own pinoy site. where can i get that image YABANG PILIPINO? thanks!

  6. 7 Major Tom November 14, 2008 at 5:43 pm

    Hey I am so glad you blog about this because I am that ignorant too about that term. How could I have missed the point? tsk,tsk…Baka tumatanda na tayo bro…🙂

  7. 8 myepinoy November 14, 2008 at 5:47 pm

    razie, please click the logo at my sidebar or this link Yabang Pinoy

  8. 9 bw November 16, 2008 at 5:39 pm

    At first I thought you were referring to biking🙂

  9. 10 manilenya November 19, 2008 at 7:54 am

    hehehehe! ngayon ko lang din po nalaman na yun ibig sabihin ng PED XING🙂

  10. 11 edelweiza December 11, 2008 at 8:05 am

    haha. dati rin ganoon ang intindi ko sa PED XING…may kaibigan lang ako na nagsabi sakin ng tamang kahulugan nyan..narealize ko noon na marami pa pala akong di alam sa mundo.indeed, life is a continuous acquisition of knowledge and experiences.:)

  11. 12 Jaki May 2, 2009 at 9:01 pm

    OMG! nakakaloka ang PED XING! Joke


Leave a Reply

Tweets

Categories


