The Place They Called “Boracay”

So, you and me   know that Boracay is a tropical island located in the province of Aklan. Yes, we are absolutely correct about this.  However, it is interesting to know that aside from the real Boracay and the Boracay Mansion of Erap, there is another one in Cavite.

Believe me! There is indeed a place called Boracay located in Cavite. It is  just few minutes away from Island Cove.

If you think I am just kidding you, please ask the local residents, the people who regularly pass this place and the people residing nearby. they will tell you, that as far as they are concerned, this place is Boracay or Bora, take it or leave it.

The place that local folks called Boracay or Bora.

They called this place Boracay or Bora.

At the back of this place, there is an ongoing road reclamation project under the R-1 Expressway Extension Project. This will connect the Manila-Cavite Coastal Road to Kawit town in Cavite and will continue inland up to Noveleta town.

There are one thousand families that will be uprooted from this place because of this project according to  Inquirer.net .

As we drove past this place called Boracay, I had a clear view of the site. I was amazed! This R-1 Expressway Extension Project covered a great portion of the Manila Bay, Cavite side. I am not good at describing things but all I can say is that this project is not only wide but very huge as well. 

My daughter, who was taking pictures of the place, asked me a very interesting question that made me thinking up to this very moment.

“Where do you think they got all these volumes or amounts (??) of soil and rocks to cover that portion of the sea? If those were taken from mountains, how many mountains have they flattened out, destroyed and erased from the face of the [Google] earth to build this road?”

Though it is easy for me to find a cynical answer as to what would happen to the people living in this place called Boracay, I still could not figure out where did they really get those huge volumes of soil and rocks?

As I wonder and wondered as to when I will wonder about this,  my small brain is now on with yet another question – development or destruction, which one is it?

Please, help me stop my small brain.

5 Responses to “The Place They Called “Boracay””


  1. 1 bing May 17, 2009 at 11:56 am

    i don’t know how sure it is but my kids tell me na nagpapasabog daw ng part ng bundok? if that’s the case, truly destructive nga..

  2. 2 Kuya Ronnie May 19, 2009 at 1:33 am

    Oh well, all in the name of progress, regardless of what and who will be affected. That’s the way it works. My only hope is that they will really take good care of the people that will be forced to leave and be given adequate relocation site.

  3. 3 Happy Thoughts May 29, 2009 at 4:45 pm

    That’s true, unfortunately, mother nature has to suffer for this development thing. I just hope nature doesn’t strike back in the future.

  4. 4 Jayred June 12, 2009 at 3:32 pm

    Your daughter raised a very good point.

    I’m not so familiar with the area you mentioned. But this post has piqued my interest.

  5. 5 bw June 16, 2009 at 8:01 am

    looks like a massive reclamation project. Lots of work means lots of jobs too🙂

    Your post reminds me of Hongkong where the city expands towards the sea. Everytime I visit, the city becomes larger and the body of water smaller😯


Leave a Reply

Tweets

Categories


